Categories: Cricket NewsIPL 2021
| On Sep 19, 2021 7:06 PM IST

CSK vs MI IPL 2021 Match 30: Why is Rohit Sharma Not Playing?


CSK vs MI IPL Match 30: In a massive update, Mumbai Indians (MI) captain Rohit Sharma is not playing the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2021 Phase 2 opening match against Chennai Super Kings (CSK). Rohit suffered a knee injury while batting during the recently concluded fourth Test against England where he also scored a brilliant match-winning hundred. In his absence, Kieron Pollard is captaining the Mumbai Indians in this IPL Phase opener in Dubai.

Why is Rohit Sharma Not Playing?

CSK captain MS Dhoni has won the toss and opted to bat first in this first match at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium. MI captain Kieron Pollard did mention that Rohit’s injury is not that serious and he might be back for the next game against Kolkata Knight Riders scheduled on 23 September. However, it is a great moment for young batsman Anmolpreet Singh who will be making his IPL debut for Mumbai Indians in this match. In another blow for MI, all-rounder Hardik Pandya is also not playing this match.

MI Playing 11 (Confirmed)
Quinton de Kock
Suryakumar Yadav
Anmolpreet Singh
Ishan Kishan
Krunal Pandya
Kieron Pollard
Saurabh Tiwary
Rahul Chahar
Adam Milne
Trent Boult
Jasprit Bumrah

Related: Will Fans be Allowed in IPL 2021 Phase 2?

Saurabh Tiwary has come in for Hardik Pandya in the MI playing 11. It is also a historic moment for Jasprit Bumrah as he is all set to play his 100th IPL match.

Related: Why is Hardik Pandya Not Playing in CSK vs MI IPL 2021 Match?

CSK vs MI IPL 2021 Match 30

For the Chennai Super Kings, the good news is that their leading run-scorer Faf du Plessis is completely fit and available for today’s IPL 2021 match against MI. However, seam-bowling all-rounder Sam Curran misses out as he is yet to complete his mandatory quarantine period. The likes of Faf du Plessis, Moeen Ali, Dwayne Bravo and Josh Hazlewood are the four overseas players for CSK in this match.

Related: Shikhar Dhawan Hilarious Instagram Reel with Prithvi Shaw – WATCH

CSK Playing 11 (Confirmed)
Ruturaj Gaikwad
Faf du Plessis
Moeen Ali
Suresh Raina
Ambati Rayudu
MS Dhoni
Ravindra Jadeja
Dwayne Bravo
Shardul Thakur
Deepak Chahar
Josh Hazlewood

For more IPL 2021 news, click here


Kuljyot Singh

A cricket maniac who lives his life like a T20 match, time is short so make the most of it. Always thriving to learn more about cricket writing and obviously being an Indian, a big cricket expert.