Cricket News
| On May 1, 2022 3:07 PM IST

DC vs LSG IPL 2022: Why is Avesh Khan Not Playing Today?


Avesh Khan IPL 2022 DC vs LSG: In a  big news development, Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) premier pace bowler Avesh Khan is not playing the today Indian Premier League (IPL 2022) match against Delhi Capitals at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

DC vs LSG IPL 2022: Why is Avesh Khan Not Playing Today?

After winning the toss and electing to bat first, Lucknow Super Giants captain KL Rahul gave the important news that fast bowler Avesh Khan does not features in the playing 11 in order to manage his workload. Avesh missed the match against Mumbai Indians due to a niggle and then returned into the side during the previous game against Punjab Kings. Rahul also noted that this being afternoon match, they did not want to let the right-armer play back-to-back games.

“We are going to bat first. Looks a good wicket, put some runs on the board and defend it. Try and go out there, put a par total on the board and back our bowlers. Mistakes do happen, we just had a honest chat that we could have been smarter. It happens under pressure, spoke about that and guys are honest to accept their mistakes. Avesh Khan misses out and Gowtham comes in. Didn’t want to play Avesh back-to-back,” said Lucknow Super Giants skipper KL Rahul during the toss.

Related: Most sixes in IPL

Avesh Khan Stats in IPL

Matches Wickets Economy IPL 2022 Performance Recent Form
33 40 8.24 11 wickets (8 games) 0/26, 0/33, 3/30, 1/31, 0/32, 4/24


Delhi Capitals vs Lucknow Super Giants: Confirmed LSG Playing 11

With Avesh Khan warming the bench, the Lucknow Super Giants have brought in right-arm off spinner Krishnappa Gowtham in the team. His inclusion also provides the KL Rahul-side with some depth in the batting line-up.

Related: Highest Paid Player in IPL 2022

LSG Playing 11
1. KL Rahul (C)
2. Quinton de Kock (WK)
3. Deepak Hooda
4. Marcus Stoinis
5. Krunal Pandya
Ayush Badoni
7. Jason Holder
8. Krishnappa Gowtham
9. Dushmantha Chameera
10. Mohsin Khan

11. Ravi Bishnoi

Related: IPL Team owners

LSG 2022 Squad: KL Rahul, Marcus Stoinis, Ravi Bishnoi, Quinton de Kock, Manish Pandey, Jason Holder, Deepak Hooda, Krunal Pandya, Avesh Khan, Ankit Rajpoot, K Gowtham, Dushmantha Chameera, Shahbaz Nadeem, Manan Vohra, Mohsin Khan, Ayush Badoni, Kyle Mayers, Karan Sharma, Evin Lewis, Mayank Yadav, Andrew Tye.

Related: IPL 2022 Prize Money

For more IPL 2022 news, click here

Follow us on Google News

Kuljyot Singh

A cricket maniac who lives his life like a T20 match, time is short so make the most of it. Always thriving to learn more about cricket writing and obviously being an Indian, a big cricket expert.