Categories: Cricket News
| On Jul 5, 2021 4:41 PM IST

ENG vs IND: “He has questioned the leadership of Sourav Ganguly” BCCI official responds to Saba Karim


Indian opening batsman Shubman Gill recently sustained an injury to his right leg, which should cost him his spot for the five-match Test series versus England. Former wicket-keeper Saba Karim stated that Shubman Gill must have had this injury since before, and that he chose to hide it. Saba Karim also expressed his astonishment on the situation.

Saba Karim Surprised with Gill’s injury

“I was surprised to see Shubman Gill hid his injury. He has been travelling for a long time with the Indian team. Physios and other medical staff are tracking the fitness of the players. It’s very surprising in the first place, how it happened and why it didn’t come up earlier,” Karim said.

Shubman Gill did open in the WTC Final against New Zealand, and scored brief knocks of 28 and 8 from the two innings. On hearing Saba Karim’s statement, one of the senior BCCI Officials responded to it, by mentioning that Karim has put in serious allegations here, and is even questioning BCCI President Sourav Ganguly in the process.

BCCI Answers Back

“In making such a statement, he has questioned the leadership of Ganguly who is very particular about the rules being followed where the fitness of players and selection of players is concerned. It is a serious allegation to make” The BCCI official had to say.

The official further clarified that Gill wasn’t injured prior to the tour to England, and that instead he picked up a knock while in action in the WTC Final.

With Shubman Gill likely to be in the sidelines for the upcoming Test series, names such as Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul, and even Prithvi Shaw are popping out of the bag as options who can open alongside Rohit Sharma.

Related Story: “He knows everything about cricket”; Prihvi Shaw all praise for Rahul Dravid

ENG vs IND Squad 2021

Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (Captain), Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), R. Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav, KL Rahul, Wriddhiman Saha

Standby players: Abhimanyu Easwaran, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, Arzan Nagwaswalla

Related Story: When is the next IPL Auction?

Walli Siddiqui

Talking, articulating, presenting about a sport or a team you love is quite unparalleled, Hence, you can always find me here. P.S. An avid Manchester United fan.