England Squad Announced for ICC T20 World Cup 2022. Check official update

Updated on: Sep 2, 2022 3:31 pm IST

  • England Squad ICC T20 World Cup 2022 Start Date

    England squad for T20 WC 2022: In a massive breaking news update, England have announced their 15-member squad for this year’s ICC T20 World Cup 2022 scheduled to be held in Australia. The English side ended up losing the semi-final encounter at the hands of New Zealand during the ICC T20 World Cup 2021 edition played in the UAE. The Jos Buttler-led England team will be opening their T20 WC 2022 campaign against Afghanistan on 22 October, 2022 in Perth. England are placed in the Group 1 of Super 12 that also includes Afghanistan, Australia, New Zealand and two qualifying teams.

    England Squad Announced for ICC T20 World Cup 2022. Check official update

    The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) have announced their 15-man T20I squad for the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup and the biggest surprise is the exclusion of premier opening batsman Jason Roy. During the recent few T20I series against India and South Africa at home, Roy looked in a very miserable form with the bat and even failed to fire in the ongoing The Hundred. In his absence, the likes of Harry Brook, Phil Salt and Jonny Bairstow are the frontrunners to partner skipper Jos Buttler at the top.

    On the other hand, senior all-rounder Ben Stokes makes a return to the T20I squad while the pace bowling duo of Mark Wood and Chris Woakes are also returning from their respective injury lay-offs. England have named three travelling reserves, Tymal Mills, Liam Dawson and Richard Gleeson.

    England Squad

    Jos Buttler (Captain), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Harry Brook, Sam Curran, Chris Jordan, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Phil Salt, Ben Stokes, Reece Topley, David Willey. 

    Travelling Reserves: Liam Dawson, Richard Gleeson, Tymal Mills

    Related: Who will win Asia Cup 2022?

    England Playing 11

    1. Jos Buttler (C & wk)
    2. Phil Salt
    3. Dawid Malan
    4. Jonny Bairstow
    5. Liam Livingstone
    6. Ben Stokes
    7. Moeen Ali
    8. Chris Woakes
    9. Sam Curran
    10. Chris Jordan
    11. Adil Rashid

    Related: Asia Cup Winners List

    Related: Top 5 Batsmen with Most Runs in T20I

    Click for more Cricket News

    Previous Article
    Next Article