Cricket News
| On Jun 4, 2019 4:03 PM IST

ICC World Cup 2019: South Africa vs India, Head-to-Head in World Cups, Stats and More


It’s time for much-anticipated South Africa vs India as India kickstart their ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 campaign. The two sides have produced cricket of the highest standard on the previous four occasions in the mega event and it shall be no different this time.

Head-to-Head in ICC World Cup

South Africa – 3, India – 1

ICC World Cup 2015: India won by 130 runs

ICC World Cup 2011: South Africa won by 3 wickets

ICC World Cup 1999: South Africa won by 4 wickets

ICC World Cup 1992: South Africa won by 6 wickets


Highest Individual Innings for India vs. South Africa in World Cups 

137 – Shikhar Dhawan at Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne in 2015

Getty Images

Highest Individual Innings against India by South Africa

96 – Jacques Kallis at County Ground, Hove in 1999



Most Wickets in an Innings for India vs. South Africa

3-41 – Ravichandran Ashwin at Melbourne Cricket Ground in 2015


Most Wickets in an Innings for South Africa vs. India

5-50 – Dale Steyn at Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium in 2011

Getty Images


Kohli-Rabada battle to take centerstage

South Africa’s premier pacer Kagiso Rabada has called Virat Kohli’s behaviour on the field as ‘immature’. Rabada recalled an incident from IPL 2019 where Rabada and Kohli had a face-off. Read more


Injury concerns on either side

Lungi Ngidi, has been ruled out for 10 days through a hamstring strain while Steyn and Amla are among the others on the injury list for the Proteas.

On the other hand, India received a boost ahead of their opening tie at Southampton with Kedar Jadhav returning to training.


Also Read: ICC World Cup 2019: Boost for Windies as duo cleared to play


India World Cup squad: Virat Kohli (c), Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Hardik Pandya, KL Rahul, Mohammed Shami, Vijay Shankar, Rohit Sharma, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal, Shikhar Dhawan, MS Dhoni (wk) and Ravindra Jadeja

South Africa World Cup Squad: Faf du Plessis (c), Chris Morris, Andile Phehlukwayo, JP Duminy, Dwaine Pretorius, Dale Steyn, Kagiso Rabada, Lungi Ngidi, Imran Tahir, Tabraiz Shamsi, Aiden Markram, Quinton de Kock (wk), Hashim Amla, Rassie van der Dussen, David Miller


Himanshu Sharma

I chirp from the slips cordon, warm bench on football pitch and take part in social media banter.