Who would host the ICC World Test Championship?

Updated on: Jun 20, 2018 5:31 pm IST

ICC will be conducting an ICC World Test Championship from July 15, 2019, to April 30, 2021. However, they are yet to decide the hosts for the finals of the league competition.

Reports suggest that ICC and the BCCI are torn between a difference of opinions as ICC and most of the board members have suggested holding the final of the game in England while BCCI has argued for the top-finishing team to be the hosts.

After pondering over the issue of timing, most of them believe English summer to be the most practical place for the finals.

“We have decided and agreed that the best timing for the play-off would be during June-July as it a new concept,” said James Sutherland, Cricket Australia CEO.

Image Credit @ICC


Also Read: Chandimal reprimanded by the ICC

 ICC World Test Championship:

The Test Championship will feature world’s top nine teams who will play six series each over a two-year cycle on a home-and-away basis.

The tournament will kickstart with the Ashes Test in England and the top nine teams would play against each other against mutually selected teams.

Image Credit @Getty Images

The league is slated to start soon after 2019 World Cup. The championship was first proposed in 2009 with New Zealand captain Martin Crowe as one of the main brains behind it.

The Windies will be travelling to Sri Lanka for a two-Test series for the final league game in April 2021.

The World Test Championship has been embraced by the heads of ICC member countries.

“We believe that the new FTP (Future Tour Plan) would be a big step forward for international cricket with much-improved structure and context for matches played in the Test and ODI formats,” Sutherland said.

Never miss an update, visit Google News & FOLLOW US.

For daily fantasy sports tips on your mobile phone, Fill out the form below

Previous Article
Next Article