IND vs AUS: Is Rishabh Pant Playing Today’s India vs Australia 2nd T20I? Here’s the update

Updated on: Sep 23, 2022 8:00 am IST

  • Rishabh Pant IND vs AUS 2nd T20I India vs Australia Dream11

    Rishabh Pant IND vs AUS: Things are seriously going downhill for the Men in Blue in the lead up to the all-important ICC T20 World Cup 2022 scheduled to be held next month. After a poor hammering in the recently concluded Asia Cup 2022, the Rohit Sharma-led Indian team once again looked short of answers as the visiting Australian side registered an amazing 4-wicket victory in the first T20I on Tuesday while chasing a massive score of 209 runs. Australia have now taken a 1-0 lead in the three-match T20I series.

    IND vs AUS: Is Rishabh Pant Playing Today’s India vs Australia 2nd T20I? Here’s the update

    Much like the first game of Asia Cup 2022 against arch-rivals Pakistan, the Indian team management decided to go ahead with the experienced Dinesh Karthik as the wicket-keeper batsman ahead of Rishabh Pant during the opening T20I game against Australia in Mohali. However, while coming to bat at No 7, Karthik managed to contributed with 6 runs off 5 balls before getting dismissed by Aussie pacer Nathan Ellis. Incidentally, lower-order batsman Axar Patel was sent ahead of the experienced and designated finisher in the 14th over which has been a continuing trend in the recent while. There has been some strong criticism regarding the number of balls Dinesh Karthik is getting to face in a T20I innings and his role as a specialist finisher in the shorter format of the game.

    However, India is very much likely to go ahead with Karthik as the wicket-keeper batsman in the upcoming second T20I match against Australia scheduled on 23 September, 2022 at the Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium in Nagpur. This also means that an impactful left-handed batsman like Rishabh Pant will once again have to warm the bench.

    Related: Who Will win T20 World Cup 2022?

    Probable India Playing 11

    1. Rohit Sharma (C)
    2. KL Rahul
    3. Virat Kohli
    4. Suryakumar Yadav
    5. Hardik Pandya
    6. Dinesh Karthik (wk)
    7. Axar Patel
    8. Harshal Patel
    9. Bhuvneshwar Kumar
    10. Yuzvendra Chahal
    11. Jasprit Bumrah

    Related: T20 World Cup 2022 Squads of All Teams

    India vs Australia 2022 Schedule

    Date Format Match Time Venue Result
    20 September, 2022 (Tuesday) 1st T20I India vs Australia 7 PM IST Punjab Cricket Association IS Bindra Stadium,  Mohali Australia won by 4 wickets
    23 September, 2022 (Friday) 2nd T20I India vs Australia 7 PM IST Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium, Nagpur TBA
    25 September, 2022 (Sunday) 3rd T20I India vs Australia 7 PM IST Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, Hyderabad TBA

    Related: Most T20I runs for India in a calendar year [2012 to 2022]

    Click for more Cricket News

    Previous Article
    Next Article