Who will win the T20 World Cup?

Published on: Sep 19, 2022 9:27 am IST|Updated on: Sep 19, 2022 12:57 pm IST

Who will win the T20 World Cup

The countdown for the T20 World Cup 2022 in Australia has already begun as teams across the globe have started preparations for the showpiece event. The tournament will see the biggest names in the world of cricket gather and establish their supremacy on the world stage.

The likes of India, England, and New Zealand will be some of the names expected to lift the trophy, while hosts and defending champions Australia will start as heavy favourites to clinch the crown in their own backyard.

Who will win the T20 World Cup?

As things stand the Aussies look favourite for more than one reason to clinch the T20 World Cup. They have hardly changed their winning combination as they only made one change from their 2021 T20 World Cup triumphant side, bringing in more lethal Tim David in place of Mitchell Swepson.

The likes of Mitchell Marsh, Mitchell Starc, and Marcus Stoinis are not available for the India series, but should be available for the main event. A complete batting unit and string of match winners in the squad makes Australia the favourite to clinch the T20 World Cup.

As the inaugural winners and stars like Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, and Hardik Pandya, the Indian team has all the weapons in their arsenal to succeed and win the T20 World Cup. A balanced side with back-up options in every department increases India’s chances of winning the T20 World Cup.

The only concern will be the team selection as they would want the right combination for the surface in Australia as it supports bounce. The form of Suryakumar Yadav and the return of Jasprit Bumrah will be another notable factor that gives the favourite tag to Team India.

T20 World Cup 2022 Winner Contenders

New Zealand and England will also fancy their chances as they made it to the knockouts last year. While the former lost in the final of the T20 World Cup, England under Jos Buttler will look to make amends and progress further in the tournament. Experience players like Buttler, and Moeen Ali will be key while the likes of Recce Topley, and Dawid Malan provide the ‘X-factor’ in the team.

Asia Cup finalists Pakistan and Sri Lanka will also put their claim for the event, but the unpredictability factor surrounding the team makes worrying signs. Sri Lanka lost to Afghanistan while Pakistan were swapped aside by the champions in both the Asia Cup games.

So it now remains to be seen how teams gear up and find the missing piece in the puzzle to lift the T20 World Cup Down Under on November 13.

For daily fantasy sports tips on your mobile phone, Fill out the form below

Previous Article
Next Article