| On May 15, 2021 11:00 AM IST

IND vs NZ ICC WTC Final 2021: Possible Playing 11 of India


IND Playing 11: As the IPL has been suspended, all the eyes are on World Test Championship title clash due to be played in Southampton, England next month. Both India and New Zealand have been the most impressive teams in this period and we can expect some thrilling cricket during these five days. India has been in good form in international cricket of late. They registered a historic win over Australia in Australia and then defeated England at home to set up a final clash with New Zealand. It’s not often that we see two teams playing test cricket at a neutral venue. This makes the match special as no team will have the home advantage.

India have announced a squad of 20 players and additional 4 players in the reserves’ list. The squad is mostly the same with Hardik Pandya and Kuldeep Yadav the only omissions from India’s last series against England. KL Rahul and Wriddhiman Saha have been selected subject to fitness clearance.

IND Playing 11 (likely)

Rohit Sharma
Shubman Gill
Cheteshwar Pujara
Virat Kohli (C)
Ajinkya Rahane
Rishabh Pant (wk)
Ravindra Jadeja
Ravichandran Ashwin
Mohammed Shami
Ishant Sharma
Jasprit Bumrah

With Southampton likely to have seaming conditions, India are likely to go with their three top fast bowlers. The experience of Jadeja and Ashwin can play a crucial role as the match goes ahead. The batting is likely to be the same with Rohit Sharma at the top and Kohli, Rahane and Pujara controlling the middle order. Rishabh Pant can be the X-factor for India as he has been in terrific form in this format.

READ: How much did Virat Kohli donate for Covid-19 Relief? Check Details

India Squad for WTC Final 2021
Virat Kohli (captain), Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wk), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav, KL Rahul, Wriddhiman Saha (wk).
Standby players: Abhimanyu Easwaran, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, Arzan Nagwaswalla.


Where to Watch IND vs NZ WTC Final Live

You can watch the ball by ball and the Live score coverage of India vs New Zealand WTC Final on the Star Sports Network and Hotstar. The match will be played from June 18-22 and will start at 3:30 pm (IST).

READ: Kohli begins COVID-19 Relief Work in Mumbai after IPL 2021 Postponed

Monojit Das

An avid reader and follower of cricket