IND vs NZ: Ruturaj Gaikwad Out of India vs New Zealand T20I Series? Here’s the update

Updated on: Jan 25, 2023 11:33 am IST

  • Ruturaj Gaikwad IND vs NZ Dream11

    Ruturaj Gaikwad IND vs NZ: The biggest breaking news development is that India’s opener Ruturaj Gaikwad is doubtful for the upcoming three-match T20I series against New Zealand at home. The Men in Blue are scheduled to play the first T20I encounter against New Zealand on 27 January, 2023 at the JSCA International Stadium Complex in Ranchi. India recently registered an amazing 3-0 cleansweep over the Kiwi side in the three-match ODI series at home.

    IND vs NZ: Ruturaj Gaikwad Out of India vs New Zealand T20I Series? Here’s the update

    Ruturaj Gaikwad, a young Indian top-order batter, has checked into the National Cricket Academy (NCA) due to wrist pain. He is a member of the Indian squad set to take on New Zealand in a three-match T20I series this week. Despite a poor performance in his last match, where he scored 8 and 0 in two innings, Gaikwad was selected for the series due to his recent success, registering four centuries in five games in the Vijay Hazare Trophy. He previously suffered a wrist injury last year, causing him to miss a T20I series against Sri Lanka. He reported his current pain to the BCCI medical team and is now at the NCA for further assessment.

    It is uncertain at this time if Gaikwad’s wrist injury will affect his participation in the upcoming T20I series against New Zealand. The medical team at the NCA will likely conduct further assessments and tests to determine the extent of the injury and whether or not he will be able to play. If Gaikwad is unable to play, it could be a significant loss for the Indian team, as he has been in top form and was a key player in their recent success. The team will be closely monitoring his condition and making decisions based on the advice of the medical staff.

    However, the pair of Ishan Kishan and Shubman Gill are very much likely to start the T20I series as the two opening batsmen. It is also likely that Prithvi Shaw might get an opportunity to make a comeback in the Indian side.

    India T20I Squad

    Hardik Pandya (c), Suryakumar Yadav (vc), Ishan Kishan (wk), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik, Shivam Mavi, Prithvi Shaw, Mukesh Kumar.

    IND Playing 11

    1. Ishan Kishan (wk)
    2. Shubman Gill
    3. Rahul Tripathi
    4. Suryakumar Yadav
    5. Hardik Pandya (C)
    6. Deepak Hooda
    7. Washington Sundar
    8. Shivam Mavi
    9. Arshdeep Singh
    10. Umran Malik
    11. Yuzvendra Chahal

    India vs New Zealand 2023 Schedule

    Date Format Matches Time Venue Result
    18 January, 2023 1st ODI India vs New Zealand 1:30 PM IST Hyderabad India won by 12 runs
    21 January, 2023 2nd ODI India vs New Zealand 1:30 PM IST Raipur India won by 8 wickets
    24 January, 2023 3rd ODI India vs New Zealand 1:30 PM IST Indore India won by 90 runs
    27 January, 2023 1st T20I India vs New Zealand 7 PM IST Ranchi
    29 January, 2023 2nd T20I India vs New Zealand 7 PM IST Lucknow
    1 February, 2023 3rd T20I India vs New Zealand 7 PM IST Ahmedabad



    Previous Article
    Next Article