IND vs SL: India Playing XI for India vs Sri Lanka 1st T20I

Updated on: Dec 28, 2022 10:00 am IST

  • India vs Sri Lanka

    IND vs SL 2023: India is all set to kick start their home season with a T20I series against Sri Lanka. The first game will be played on 3rd January at iconic Wankhede Stadium followed by the second game slated to take place on 5th January in Pune. The last and final game will be played on 7th January in Rajkot. BCCI on Tuesday (27th December) named 16-member squad for the series. With first game just a few days ahead, we take a look at predicted Indian playing XI for first T20I.

    IND vs SL: India Playing XI for India vs Sri Lanka 1st T20I

    1. Ishan Kishan
    2. Shubman Gill 
    3. Suryakumar Yadav 
    4. Deepak Hooda  
    5. Hardik Pandya (C) 
    6. Sanju Samson (wk) 
    7. Washington Sundar 
    8. Yuzvendra Chahal 
    9. Harshal Patel 
    10. Umran Malik 
    11. Arshdeep Singh 

    Ishan Kishan no doubt will open the innings for India in the 1st T20I against Sri Lanka in Mumbai. However, it is expected that Shubman Gill will make his T20I debut in the series against Asian Champions.

    Suryakumar Yadav, who has been in staggering from in T20Is has been appointed as the vice-captain of the team is likely to bat at No.3 whereas Deepak Hooda is expected to make a comeback in the Indian T20I side after being on the bench.

    Skipper Hardik Pandya is expected to play a crucial role for his side at No.5 and is also expected to play important role with the ball as well. Sanju Samson is most probably to play the role of finisher for the team with Washington Sundar, who will also handle spin bowling duties along with Yuzvendra Chahal, is likely to bat at No.6

    Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh and Umran Malik are likely to be the three front line pacers in the side. The pace battery seems little inexperienced but they have been performing well of late.

    IND vs SL: India Playing squad for the T20I series against Sri Lanka 

    Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul have been rested for the T20I series against Sri Lanka whereas Rishabh Pant has been dropped. The likes of Ruturaj Gaikwad Sanju Samson and Rahul Tripathi have got opportunity whereas Mukesh Kumar and Shivam Mavi have earned a maiden call-up.

    Here’s India’s squad for the T20I series against Sri Lanka: 

    Hardik Pandya (Captain), Ishan Kishan (wk), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Suryakumar Yadav (VC), Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Sanju Samson, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Harshal Patel, Umran Malik, Shivam Mavi, Mukesh Kumar.

    Previous Article
    Next Article