Cricket News
| On Aug 6, 2022 2:17 PM IST

India ODI Captain – Record since World Cup 2019


The Indian team was unlucky to have missed out on the glory at the 2019 ODI World Cup as they were eliminated in the semifinal by New Zealand. This would turn out to be the only occasion Virat Kohli would lead the Indian side in the ODI World Cup.

India’s ODI Captain since World Cup 2019

Captain Matches Win No Result Loss
Virat Kohli 18 9 1 8
Shikhar Dhawan 6 5 0 1
Rohit Sharma 6 5 0 1
KL Rahul 3 0 0 3
Total 33 19 1 13

While there has a trend of multi-captains theory in the Indian cricket recently with host players leading the side. However with the next ODI World Cup in sight, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) will look for a definite plan.

Since that disappointing exit to New Zealand in 2019, three other players apart from Virat Kohli have led the Indian side. Virat, who relinquished the Indian T20 captaincy last year, was then forced to step down as the ODI captaincy as well. However before he stepped down, he led India in 18 ODIs, winning 9 and having a win percent rate of 50.

Virat also lost 8 matches in that period, while one match ended in no result back in the 2019 West Indies tour. After Virat, Rohit Sharma was named as the permanent skipper of the side, however, he too has been either missed matches due to injury or has been rested.

Rohit Sharma as India ODI Captain

Rohit Sharma has led India in 6 matches in the ODI format since taking over from Virat. He has won five matches and lost only one, a defeat against England at Edgbaston in July. He holds a proud record for the Indian side and will continue to lead the side during the 2023 ODI World Cup as well.

Next man on the list is Shikhar Dhawan, who also has identical record as Rohit. Dhawan has also won five matches and lost one and most recently led India to a 3-0 series win against West Indies. Interestingly all of Dhawan’s six matches as skipper have come on foreign soil, taking first charge in 2021 against Sri Lanka. India won the series 2-1.

KL Rahul though remains the odd man out having lost all of his three matches as skipper. Rahul led India in the absence of Rohit  in January 2021 in the South Africa tour and lost all three ODIs.


Click for more Indian Cricket Team articles

Tags: India