India vs West Indies: Meet the new opening partner of KL Rahul

By Chaitanya Laxman

India announce the 12 member squad for the first Test

Team India has announced the squad for the first Test against West Indies which begins on October 04 at Rajkot. The 12-man squad features the name of Prithvi Shaw which means the young opener is set to open the innings with KL Rahul.

The squad announced by BCCI includes six batsmen and five bowlers. KL Rahul will open the innings with Prithvi Shaw while Mayank Agarwal, the third opener India selected for this series will be warming the benches.

18-year old Shaw to make Test debut

Prithvi Shaw who is regarded highly by former cricketers and analysts will become the 293rd player to represent India in Tests. The Mumbai batsman has remained in limelight since he started playing school cricket and has achieved several laurels.

In 2014, he scored 546 runs which was the highest score in school cricket. He then made a hundred on his Ranji debut and was the captain of India’s U-19 team that won the world cup. He was also effective at the top of the order for Delhi Daredevils in IPL.

Also read: Anil Kumble reveals his favourite Indian captain,and its not Ganguly

In the recent times, Shaw did exceptionally well for India A. He scored two centuries against West Indies A and one century against South Africa A.

Three seamers or three spinners?

The only decision India have to make ahead of the first Test is whether to field three seamers or three spinners. Ravindra Jadeja and Ravichandran Ashwin will be India’s primary spin duo while Kuldeep Yadav can step in as the third spinner.

India have selected three pacers for the first Test including Mohammad Shami, Umesh Yadav and Shardul Thakur. If Kuldeep is selected then Shardul Thakur will be India’s 12th man otherwise the Mumbai pace bowler too will make his Test debut along with Shaw.

India’s squad for the first Test- KL Rahul, Prithvi Shaw, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (capt.), Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant (wk), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Kuldeep Yadav and Shardul Thakur.

Chaitanya Laxman

Smitten by cricket, green mountains, and written words, Chaitanya is engrossed with cricket stats and analysis. But cricket commentary is what he savors the most.