Categories: Cricket News
| On Sep 2, 2021 3:16 PM IST

India vs England Live: Why is Mohammed Shami Not Playing 4th Test?


India vs England Live: England and India are currently playing the fourth Test match at the Kennington Oval in London. The host England team levelled the five-match Test series 1-1 with an innings and 76 runs win in the third Test at the Headingley.

Why is Mohammed Shami Not Playing 4th Test?

In a massive update, England captain Joe Root has won the toss in the fourth Test and has opted to bowl first. India have made a couple of big changes to their playing XI with senior fast bowler Mohammed Shami not playing because of a niggle and Umesh Yadav has replaced him. On the other hand, seam-bowling all-rounder Shardul Thakur has come in for Ishant Sharma.

“We would have bowled first as well but toss isn’t something you can control. Need to be prepared for either. We’re looking forward to putting runs on the board. Two changes – Ishant and Shami have niggles – Umesh and Shardul are back. For us, it’s about partnerships, we can’t focus too much on individuals. The opening partnerships have been good, it’s about getting more partnerships. We got a few days left on this tour, the series is poised nicely and there is going to be no shortage of effort from our side,” said Indian captain Virat Kohli during the toss.

Related: Why is Sam Curran Not Playing 4th Test? 

On the other hand, England have also made two changes to their playing XI from the Headingley Test as Chris Woakes and Ollie Pope have come in for Sam Curran and Jos Buttler respectively. In the absence of Buttler, Jonny Bairstow will don the wicket-keeping duties.

Related: Why India Players are Wearing Black Armbands on Day 1 of 4th Test?

India vs England Live

India Playing 11: Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli(c), Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant(w), Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj

Related: New England Vice Captain Announced for 4th Test

England Playing 11: Rory Burns, Haseeb Hameed, Dawid Malan, Joe Root(c), Ollie Pope, Jonny Bairstow(w), Moeen Ali, Chris Woakes, Craig Overton, Ollie Robinson, James Anderson.

For more ENG vs IND news, click here