| On Updated : Dec 23, 2019 6:29 PM IST

India vs Sri Lanka squad announced: Bumrah, Dhawan return; star batsman rested

After a fabulous 2019, team India is now preparing ahead for 2020. The first assignment of 2020 will be against Sri Lankans for the 3-match T20 series. This series is critical for both the teams for their roads leading into the T20 WC in Australia to be held in October next year. Straight after that, the mighty Australians will be landing on Indian Shores for a 3 match ODI series.

Indian Selection Committee led by MSK Prasad on Monday announced the squads for the upcoming series. Major News for squads coming out is of Jasprit Bumrah making a comeback in both squads. Along with him, Shikhar Dhawan is also expected to be back in both squads after sitting out in the recent WI series due to injury. Rohit Sharma and Shami have been rested for SL T20s looking at their workloads in the past one year.

Sri Lanka series will commence on 5th January in Guwahati, followed by matches on 7th and 10th January. Australia will begin their ODI year against India on 14th of January at Wankhede, followed by matches at Rajkot and Bengaluru.

Here is the 15-man squad for the series

Virat Kohli (C), Shreyas Iyer, Washington Sundar, Rishabh Pant (WK), Ravindra Jadeja, Shivam Dube, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Jasprit Bumrah, Navdeep Saini, Shardul Thakur, Manish Pandey, Sanju Samson

Dharmik Sankhavara @dhaarmik

Always prefers Banter Into Batsman's ears from Gully rather than Silly Point!