Categories: Cricket NewsIPL 2021
| On Apr 2, 2021 5:30 PM IST

IPL 2021: Strongest Playing 11 of Rajasthan Royals


RR Playing 11: After a memorable title win in the inaugural season of the Indian Premier League (IPL) in 2008, the Rajasthan Royals (RR) are yet to do something extraordinary in the global T20 cricketing extravaganza. Rajasthan Royals finished with the wooden spoon in IPL 2020 with six wins and eight losses in 14 matches. After a disastrous campaign, they have even released their skipper Steve Smith and have bought the most expensive player in the history of the IPL in Chris Morris for a record-breaking 16.25 crores.

Related: IPL 2021: Jofra Archer to miss first four RR matches

RR Playing 11

Rajasthan’s premier fast bowler Jofra Archer will miss the first few matches this season due to injury. It will be really difficult for the team to pick their best combination without Archer but they have some good options to replace the England speedster. After trying a whole lot of opening pairs in the previous season, RR are likely to start this season with Jos Buttler and Yashasvi Jaiswal. The likes of skipper Sanju Samson, Ben Stokes and Riyan Parag will form part of the middle-order.

After his heroics last year, Rahul Tewatia will once again be their finisher alongside all-rounder Shivam Dube. Tewatia and Shreyas Gopal will be part of the spin department. Rajasthan Royals’ pace bowling attack will comprise of Chris Morris, Andrew Tye and Jaydev Unadkat.

RR Playing 11 (likely)
Jos Buttler
Yashasvi Jaiswal
Sanju Samson
Ben Stokes
Riyan Parag
Rahul Tewatia
Shivam Dube
Chris Morris
Shreyas Gopal
Andrew Tye
Jaydev Unadkat

The Rajasthan Royals also have some great back-up options in Mustafizur Rahman, Mayank Markande, Liam Livingstone and Kartik Tyagi who could player major roles for them in the latter half of the tournament. The 2008 IPL winners will start their IPL 2021 campaign against the Punjab Kings on April 12 in Mumbai.

Related: Sunil Gavaskar names his favourites to win IPL 2021

Rajasthan Royals Squad for IPL 2021

Sanju Samson (captain), Mahipal Lomror, Manan Vohra, Riyan Parag, Mayank Markande, Shreyas Gopal, Jaydev Unadkat, Kartik Tyagi, Rahul Tewatia, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Anuj Rawat, David Miller, Jofra Archer, Andrew Tye, Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler, KC Cariappa, Chetan Sakariya, Chris Morris, Shivam Dube, Mustafizur Rahman, Liam Livingstone, Kuldip Yadav, Akash Singh.

For more IPL news, click here

Kuljyot Singh

A cricket maniac who lives his life like a T20 match, time is short so make the most of it. Always thriving to learn more about cricket writing and obviously being an Indian, a big cricket expert.