Cricket News
| On Apr 2, 2022 3:10 PM IST

IPL 2022, MI vs RR: Why is Suryakumar Yadav Not Playing Today?


MI vs RR: In a big news development, Mumbai Indians (MI) premier batsman Suryakumar Yadav is not playing in the today Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022 match against Rajasthan Royals (RR) at the Dr DY Patil Sports Academy in Mumbai. This is the second game for the Rohit Sharma-led MI team in this IPL 2022 season. Mumbai Indians ended up conceding a disappointing 4-wicket loss against Delhi Capitals in their opening match of the T20 tournament.

IPL 2022, MI vs RR: Why is Suryakumar Yadav Not Playing Today?

After winning the toss and opting to bowl first, Mumbai Indians captain Rohit Sharma gave the big news that Suryakumar Yadav has once again missed out from the playing 11 for the second game in a row this season. Although he has joined the MI camp, it seems like Suryakumar is yet to recover completely from his thumb injury at this moment. He conceded the injury right before the T20I series against Sri Lanka at home and should be back for next game against Kolkata Knight Riders on 6 April in Pune.

Related: Most sixes in IPL

The Mumbai Indians have went ahead with the same playing XI that faced a loss against Delhi Capitals and the five-time IPL champions will be eyeing to pick up their first win of this season.

Related: IPL 2022 Prize Money

MI Playing 11 (Confirmed)
1. Rohit Sharma (C)
2. Ishan Kishan (WK)
3. Anmolpreet Singh

4. Tilak Verma
5. Tim David
6. Kieron Pollard
7. Daniel Sams
8. Murugan Ashwin
9. Basil Thampi
10. Jasprit Bumrah
11. Tymal Mills

Related: Highest Paid Player in IPL 2022

Mumbai Indians vs Rajasthan Royals

On the other hand, the Rajasthan Royals are playing with just three foreign players in their side with right-arm pacer Nathan Coulter-Nile missing out after pulling off his hamstring in the last game against Sunrisers Hyderabad. For RR, Shimron Hetmyer, Jos Buttler and Trent Boult are the three overseas players.

Related: IPL Team owners

RR Playing 11 (Confirmed)
1. Jos Buttler 
2. Yashasvi Jaiswal
3. Devdutt Padikkal
4. Sanju Samson (C & wk)
5. Shimron Hetmyer
6. Riyan Parag
7. Ravichandran Ashwin
8. Navdeep Saini
9. Trent Boult
10. Yuzvendra Chahal
11. Prasidh Krishna

For more IPL 2022 news, click here

Follow us on Google News

Kuljyot Singh

A cricket maniac who lives his life like a T20 match, time is short so make the most of it. Always thriving to learn more about cricket writing and obviously being an Indian, a big cricket expert.