Cricket News
| On May 9, 2021 9:50 PM IST

When will IPL restart? BCCI President Sourav Ganguly gives MASSIVE update


When will IPL restart? The rising cases of COVID has left the people of India on tenterhooks for the past 2 months. Due to the second wave of the pandemic, the Indian Premier League 2021 was postponed. The bio-bubble restrictions could not help to stop the spread of the cases from one team to another. The different rumors were floating around for free windows of hosting the remainder of the tournament. Some of the rumors can be stopped as BCCI President Sourav Ganguly has just provided a massive update regarding the T20 league.

Read: How much did Yuzvendra Chahal donate for Covid-19 Relief? DETAILS

IPL Restart Update

In an interview, Sourav Ganguly confirmed that India will play three ODIs and five T20Is against the southern neighbor, Sri Lanka in July. The tour which will be hosted, after the Indian team is back from England, after concluding their series against the New Zealand team, will fly to Sri Lanka. It can’t just happen in India, seeing the conditions, a hazard restriction like a 14-day quarantine is very stressful for the players & it is highly likely that any series or the T20 WC, scheduled in India, will happen here. while asked about the IPL- Ganguly has also hinted that the remainder of the IPL, is not going to happen anytime soon. He says- that it’s very early to find a slot for the IPL, to happen. The chief also said that the bubble is highly required, as there can be no sport played without the bubble. He also said that- “Bubble life is harsh; it’s the toughest thing. Since last September, a majority of players around the world have been living inside a bubble. There is no option. We can’t play cricket without the bubble.”

Read: Indian National Cricket Team Schedule 2021 officially announced

India’s squad for WTC Final

Squad: Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (Captain), Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), R. Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohd. Shami, Md. Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav, KL Rahul (subject to fitness clearance), Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper; subject to fitness clearance).

Standby players: Abhimanyu Easwaran, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, Arzan Nagwaswalla

For more IPL news, click here


Harshit Rathi

Cricket buff. A happy kid who gets to write about Cricket. Traveler.