IPL Orange Cap Winner List since the start of Indian Premier League

Published on: Dec 30, 2021 3:50 pm IST|Updated on: Mar 30, 2022 10:50 am IST

IPL Orange Cap Winners List

IPL Orange Cap – In the Indian Premier League (IPL), the Orange Cap is one of the most prestigious awards which is given at the end of the season. The Cap is given to the batter who has scored the most number of runs in the given season.

IPL Orange Cap Winner List

Over the course of the last 14 seasons, only two batsman have managed to win the Orange Cap on multiple occasions. David Warner managed to score the most runs in three seasons in 2015, 2017 and 2019. On the other hand, Chris Gayle managed won back-back Orange Caps in 2011 and 2012 for Royal Challengers Bangalore.

The first Orange Cap was awarded to Australian batter, Shaun Marsh for scoring 616 runs in just 11 matches in the inaugural edition of IPL.  Chennai Super Kings opener, Ruturaj Gaikwad was awarded the Orange Cap in 2021, for scoring 635 runs during the season.

Here’s a list of winners of IPL Orange Cap over the years

IPL edition Player Runs
2008 Shaun Marsh 616
2009 Matthew Hayden 572
2010 Sachin Tendulkar 618
2011 Chris Gayle 608
2012 Chris Gayle 733
2013 Michael Hussey 733
2014 Robin Uthappa 660
2015 David Warner 562
2016 Virat Kohli 973
2017 David Warner 641
2018 Kane Williamson 735
2019 David Warner 692
2020 KL Rahul 670
2021 Ruturaj Gaikwad 635

Only 5 Indians have managed to win the Orange Cap, which includes the likes of Virat Kohli and Sachin Tendulkar. The Master Blaster scored the most runs in the 2010 edition of IPL, smashing 618 runs in just 15 innings.

Related Most Sixes in IPL History

Virat Kohli – 2016 IPL Orange Cap Winner

Out of all the previous Orange Cap winners, one batter whose stats standout is none other than Virat Kohli. The Royal Challengers Bangalore batter amassed 973 runs in 16 matches, which is the highest ever score in a single IPL season. Virat Kohli scored four centuries during that season, and also guided his side to the finals.

David Warner is undoubtedly one of the icons of IPL, being the only player to win the Orange Cap thrice. Warner scored 562 runs, 641 runs, and 692 runs in IPL 2015, 2017 and 2019 respectively.

Follow us on Google News

For daily fantasy sports tips on your mobile phone, Fill out the form below

Previous Article
Next Article