Categories: Cricket News
| On 6 months ago

King Kohli bags all top three honours at ICC awards

By Chaitanya Laxman

Indian skipper Virat Kohli’s dominance has been officially established as he bagged all three top honours at ICC awards and became the first cricketer to achieve this rare and staggering feat. Kohli won the ICC Men’s Test player of the year, ICC Men’s One Day player of the year award and the most prestigious Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Cricketer of the Year. He was also named as the skipper of the ICC Test team of the year which includes Indian cricketers Rishabh Pant and Jasprit Bumrah. Pant has been named as the emerging player of the year.

Kohli makes a clean sweep at ICC awards

The Indian captain has been simply unstoppable in 2018 in all formats of the game. He belted 1,322 runs at a whopping average of 55.08 in 13 Tests which includes five hundreds. In the ODI format he was even more prolific. In 14 games, he scored 1202 runs at an incredible average of 133.55 and amassed six centuries as well. At the same time he has scored 211 runs in 10 T20Is in 2018.

Kohli very very happy to receive the awards

The Indian captain said that it feels amazing and it is a reward for all the hard work that you do throughout the calendar year. He feels really grateful and very, very happy with the team doing well at the same time himself performing.

According to Kohli, having recognition at the global level from the ICC is something you feel proud of as a cricketer because you understand that there are many players playing the game.

Bumrah and Pant get appreciated as well

The ICC Men’s Test team of the year includes three Indians. Kohli is the skipper of the team while pace bowler Jasprit Bumrah who was phenomenal in Tests is a part of the team as well.

Rishabh Pant who made his Test debut last year also features in the team and has bagged the emerging player of the year award for his astounding performance with the bat and wicket-keeping gloves.

ICC Test Team: Tom Latham (New Zealand), Dimuth Karunaratne (Sri Lanka), Kane Williamson (New Zealand), Virat Kohli (India) (c), Henry Nicholls (New Zealand), Rishabh Pant (India) (wk), Jason Holder (Windies), Kagiso Rabada (South Africa), Nathan Lyon (Australia), Jasprit Bumrah (India), Mohammad Abbas (Pakistan).

Chaitanya Laxman