April 7, 2019
| On 3 months ago

KXIP vs SRH preview IPL 2019: Can defeated teams get back to winning habit?

By Chaitanya Laxman

Sunrisers Hyderabad are one of the strongest teams in IPL 2019. But first KKR and now MI have shown that SRH can crumble too and this is what the franchise will look to fix in the clash against Punjab.

Meanwhile R Ashwin’s Punjab is gaining confidence with every game but it hasn’t reflected in the points table so far. And this is something the team management has to address asap.


In the first game in Indian Premier League season 12,  176 was chased with ease here while in the second game Punjab defended 166 runs.

What does the Mohali wicket have in store for the third match?

Form guide:

The inconsistency of middle-order was exposed brutally as Warner and Bairtsow embraced their first failure of this season against Mumbai. This should worry SRH and also their death bowling needs fine tuning.

Punjab’s batting is emerging as a strong unit in IPL 2019 with the middle-order stepping up thanks to Sarfaraz Khan. The form of Mohammad Shami is a cause of concern while both Ashwin’s are doing exceptionally well.

Key Numbers:

  • SRH is the clear winner in head-to-head battles between the two teams. In 12 matches, Hyderabad has won 9 times while Punjab has won only three games.

Also read: KXIP vs SRH :Top three fantasy picks

  • In the last eight encounters against Hyderabad, Punjab have won only once and at this venue they have lost four times in five matches against SRH.

Players in focus:

Sandeep Sharma has taken just five wickets in four games in IPL 2019 so far but he can be a big factor in this game as he has dismissed Chris Gayle on four occasions in eight innings.

Also read: KXIP vs SRH: Dream11 Prediction

R Ashwin is regaining his mojo and has shown signs of becoming the force he was once known for in IPL. He has an economy of 7.35 in this season which is better than what he had in 2018 and and in the last game picked three wickets by conceding just 23 runs in four overs.

Chaitanya Laxman