Cricket News
| On Apr 1, 2022 8:05 PM IST

Most Wickets in IPL Powerplay: Umesh Yadav enters record books


Umesh Yadav enters Most Wickets in IPL Powerplay: Things have been really challenging for the pace bowlers in the T20 format of the game especially due to the shorter boundaries. However, there are some world class bowlers who have shown remarkable skillset and temperament to trap even the best of batsmen especially in the Indian Premier League (IPL) history. The Punjab Kings (PBKS) are currently playing Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) in the Match 8 of IPL 2022 season at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

Most Wickets in IPL Powerplay: Umesh Yadav enters record books

For the Kolkata Knight Riders, experienced right-arm pacer Umesh Yadav has had a fabulous start to his Indian Premier League 2022 campaign. He was the Player of the Match in the tournament opener against Chennai Super Kings where he picked up excellent figures of 2 for 20 and also took two crucial scalps in the last game against Bangalore. In the ongoing game against Punjab, Umesh has added another feather to his cap having completed a total of 50 wickets in the first six overs of the powerplay in the Indian Premier League history.

Umesh Yadav is the fourth name on the list with Sandeep Sharma the highest wicket taker in the IPL powerplay with a total of 53 wickets followed by Bhuvneshwar Kumar who has 52 scalps. Former cricketer Zaheer Khan is the third name on the tally with a total of 52 wickets in the IPL powerplay overs so far while Ishant Sharma has taken 45 scalps.

Related: Most sixes in IPL

Most Wickets in IPL Powerplay

Player Number of Wickets
Sandeep Sharma 53
Bhuvneshwar Kumar 52
Zaheer Khan 52
Umesh Yadav 50
Ishant Sharma 45


Related: Highest Paid Player in IPL 2022

KKR vs PBKS, IPL 2022 Live Score

After winning the toss and opting to field first, the Kolkata Knight Riders have started off things amazingly well with the ball. The Shreyas Iyer-led KKR team have taken a total of 5 wickets with Punjab Kings struggling at 85 for 5 after 10 overs.

Related: IPL Team owners

The Punjab Kings have lost the key wickets of skipper Mayank Agarwal, Shikhar Dhawan, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Liam Livingstone and Raj Bawa within the first 10 overs of the game.

Related: IPL 2022 Prize Money

For more IPL 2022 news, click here

Follow us on Google News

Kuljyot Singh

A cricket maniac who lives his life like a T20 match, time is short so make the most of it. Always thriving to learn more about cricket writing and obviously being an Indian, a big cricket expert.