Cricket News
| On Apr 17, 2022 3:05 PM IST

PBKS vs SRH IPL 2022: Why is Mayank Agarwal Not Playing Today? Who is Punjab Kings Captain?


Mayank Agarwal IPL 2022: In a massive breaking news, Punjab Kings (PBKS) captain Mayank Agarwal is not playing the today Indian Premier League (IPL 2022) match against Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) at the Dr DY Patil Sports Academy in Mumbai. This is the first time in the IPL when Mayank was leading a side and surely he has done well to take the responsibility so far with Punjab Kings having registered 3 really impressive wins out of their 5 matches.

PBKS vs SRH IPL 2022: Why is Mayank Agarwal Not Playing Today? Who is Punjab Kings Captain?

The Punjab Kings stand-in captain Shikhar Dhawan gave the big news at the toss that Mayank Agarwal missed out for this game against Sunrisers Hyderabad as he got hit on his toe during the training session. Mayank looked in a brilliant form during the last game against Mumbai Indians. Mayank Agarwal led his team from the front with an excellent knock of 52 runs off 32 balls and was also named the Man of the Match. In his absence, Prabsimran Singh has been included in the PBKS playing 11 while Shikhar will be captaining the side.

“Mayank got hit on his toe, he should be fine for the next game. So, there’s just one change for us – Prabhsimran is in. We are performing well without depending on individuals – need to continue playing well as a unit, the bowling can get better, we’re working on it. The team is new and we’re taking time to settle. The toss could be an advantage, it’s a bit sticky, the ball could turn, but if we put up a good total, we can put them under pressure,” said Punjab Kings stand-in skipper Shikhar Dhawan during the toss.

Related: Highest Paid Player in IPL 2022

Mayank Agarwal Stats in IPL

Matches Runs 50/100 IPL 2021 Performance Recent Form
105 2229 12/1 441 runs 52, 5, 4, 1, 32


Related: IPL 2022 Prize Money

Punjab Kings vs Sunrisers Hyderabad: Confirmed PBKS Playing 11

PBKS Playing 11
1. Shikhar Dhawan (C)
2. Prabsimran Singh
3. Jonny Bairstow (wk)
4. Liam Livingstone
5. Shahrukh Khan
6. Jitesh Sharma
7. Odean Smith

8. Vaibhav Arora
9. Kagiso Rabada
10. Rahul Chahar
11. Arshdeep Singh

Related: Most sixes in IPL

PBKS 2022 squad: Mayank Agarwal, Arshdeep Singh, Shikhar Dhawan, Kagiso Rabada, Jonny Bairstow, Rahul Chahar, Shahrukh Khan, Harpreet Brar, Prabsimran Singh, Ishan Porel, Jitesh Sharma, Liam Livingstone, Odean Smith, Sandeep Sharma, Raj Angad Bawa, Rishi Dhawan, Prerak Mankad, Vaibhav Arora, Writtick Chatterjee, Baltej Dhanda, Ansh Patel, Nathan Ellis, Atharva Taide, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Benny Howell.

Related: IPL Team owners

For more IPL 2022 news, click here

Follow us on Google News

Kuljyot Singh

A cricket maniac who lives his life like a T20 match, time is short so make the most of it. Always thriving to learn more about cricket writing and obviously being an Indian, a big cricket expert.