Cricket News
| On May 1, 2022 7:22 PM IST

SRH vs CSK IPL 2022: Why is Dwayne Bravo Not Playing Today?


Dwayne Bravo IPL 2022 SRH vs CSK: In a huge news development, Chennai Super Kings (CSK) veteran pace bowler Dwayne Bravo is not playing today Indian Premier League (IPL 2022) match against Sunrisers Hyderabad at the Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Pune. This is the 9th match for the CSK side in the ongoing T20 tournament after they have managed to win just two games,

SRH vs CSK IPL 2022: Why is Dwayne Bravo Not Playing Today?

While resuming his duties as the Chennai Super Kings captain, MS Dhoni, gave an important update during the toss that they have made a couple of changes for this game against Sunrisers Hyderabad. The duo of Shivam Dube and Dwayne Bravo have been replaced by Devon Conway and debutant Simarjeet Singh. Dhoni also noted that Bravo was not completely fit for the encounter.

Dwayne Bravo’s exclusion is very much surprising as the veteran West Indies pacer had bowled well in the tournament so far having picked up as many as 14 wickets from 8 games at an average of 18.50. Also, Bravo became the leading wicket-taker in the history of the IPL earlier this year with a total of 181 wickets.

Dwayne Bravo Stats in IPL

Matches Wickets Economy IPL 2022 Performance Recent Form
159 181 8.39 14 wickets (8 games) 2/42, 2/36, 3/23, 1/42, 1/29


“You’ll definitely see me in the yellow jersey, whether it is this one, or some other one, you never know. You need to realise the current situation. We have dropped catches, those are the things you want to omit. Those are the areas you need to work on. We have a couple of changes. Bravo and Dube are out. Devon and Simarjeet Singh are in,” said Chennai Super Kings captain MS Dhoni at the toss.

Related: IPL 2022 Prize Money

Related: Most sixes in IPL

Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Chennai Super Kings: Confirmed CSK Playing 11

The Chennai Super Kings have included Devon Conway, Dwaine Pretorius, Mitchell Santner and Maheesh Theekshana as their four foreigners in the playing 11.

CSK Playing 11
1. Ruturaj Gaikwad
2. Devon Conway
3. Robin Uthappa

4. Ambati Rayudu
5. Ravindra Jadeja
6. Mitchell Santner
7. MS Dhoni (C & wk)
8. Dwaine Pretorius
9. Simarjeet Singh

10. Maheesh Theekshana 
11. Mukesh Choudhary

Related: IPL Team owners

CSK 2022 squad: Ravindra Jadeja, MS Dhoni, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Moeen Ali, Robin Uthappa, Ambati Rayudu, KM Asif, Tushar Deshpande, Dwayne Bravo, Devon Conway, Subhranshu Senapati, Tushar Deshpande, Shivam Dube, Maheesh Theekshana, Rajvardhan Hangargekar, Dwaine Pretorius, Mitchell Santner, Prashant Solanki, C Hari Nishanth, N Jagadeesan, Chris Jordan, K Bhagath Verma, Mukesh Choudhary, Simranjeet Singh, Matheesha Pathirana.

Related: Highest Paid Player in IPL 2022

For more IPL 2022 news, click here

Follow us on Google News

Kuljyot Singh

A cricket maniac who lives his life like a T20 match, time is short so make the most of it. Always thriving to learn more about cricket writing and obviously being an Indian, a big cricket expert.

Tags: Dwayne Bravo