Cricket News
| On Apr 11, 2022 2:28 PM IST

Sunrisers Hyderabad Owner, Players, Captain, Net Worth, Squad for IPL 2022


Sunrisers Hyderabad are a franchise team based in Hyderabad. After the termination of Deccan Chargers from the Indian Premier League, the team was founded in 2012. Sunrisers have won the IPL in 2016 edition, beating Royal Challengers Bangalore in the final. Kane Williamson is the captain for IPL 2022.

Team Name Year of joining IPL Owner Owner net worth Captain
Sunrisers Hyderabad 2013 SUN Group $1.6 billion Kane Williamson

Sunrisers Hyderabad Owner

Sunrisers Hyderabad made their maiden IPL appearance in 2013, when they also made the playoffs and finished fourth. Sun TV Network placed a successful bid of US $11 million or INR 85.05 crore to buy the team. It is one among India’s biggest TV networks with 32 TV channels and 45 FM Radio stations.

Kalanithi Maran, the chairman and founder of SUN Group, is also the owner of the Sunrisers Hyderabad franchise. He is an Indian media baron. Maran owns television channels, newspapers, weeklies, FM Radio stations and DTH services. He also held a major share in Spice Jet from 2010 to 2015. Kalanithi Maran has won Young Businessman awards from CNBC and Ernst & Young. Forbes Magazine also named him “Television King of Southern India.”

Kaviya Maran is the CEO, the daughter of Kalanithi Maran. Kaviya is a part of SUN Music and FM channels of SUN TV. She is regularly seen supporting the team from the stands and has been active on social media as well.

Administration and Support Staff

Sunrisers Hyderabad have a star-studded support staff. Former Australian international Tom Moody is the Director of Cricket. West Indian legend Brain Lara is the strategic advisor as well as the batting coach. Sri Lankan spin legend and one of the greats of the game, Muttiah Muralitharan is the spin bowling coach while veteran former South African quick Dale Steyn is the bowling coach. Hemang Badani is the fielding coach of the side. Kalanithi Maran, chairman and founder of Sun Group, owns the franchise while Kaviya Maran is the CEO.

Sunrisers Hyderabad Players

Sunrisers Hyderabad retained skipper Kane Williamson for INR 14 crores, Abdul Samad for INR 4 crores and young speed gun Umran Malik for INR 4 crores. Hyderabad invested a whopping INR 10.75 crore on West Indian hard-hitter Nicholas Pooran at the IPL 2022 Mega Auctions. Their other expensive buys include Washington Sundar (INR 8.75 crore) and Rahul Tripathi (INR 8.50 crore).

Sunrisers Hyderabad squad for IPL 2022

Kane Williamson, Abdul Samad, Umran Malik, Washington Sundar, Nicholas Pooran, T Natarajan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Priyam Garg, Rahul Tripathi, Abhishek Sharma, Karik Tyagi, Shreyas Gopal, Jagadeesha Suchith, Aiden Markram, Marco Jansen, Romario Shepherd, Sean Abbott, R Samarth, Saurabh Dubey, Shashank Singh, Vishnu Vinod, Glenn Philips, Fazalhaq Farooqi

SRH have been one of the most consistent teams since their entrance. Hyderabad also won the IPL in 2016 and made the final in the 2018 edition.

Follow us on Google News