Cricket News
| On Apr 11, 2022 2:43 PM IST

Royal Challengers Bangalore Owner, Players, Captain, Net Worth, Squad for IPL 2022


Royal Challengers Bangalore is a IPL franchise team based in Bangalore. The franchise was founded in 2008, playing from the very first edition of the Indian Premier League. RCB have never won the IPL. However, they have played three finals in 2009, 2011 and 2016. Bangalore are thus yet to gain the elusive silverware despite always having some big names in the side. Faf du Plessis is the current skipper of the team.

Team Name Year of joining IPL Owner Owner net worth Captain
Royal Challengers Bangalore 2008 United Spirits Limited US$1.2 billion Faf du Plessis

Royal Challengers Bangalore Owner

Royal Challengers Bangalore are one among those franchisees who are a part of the IPL from 2008. The Bangalore franchise was bought by Vijay Mallya, who paid US $111.6 billion, which was the second highest bid for a team after Mumbai Indians.

Royal Challengers Bangalore is owned by United Spirits, a Diageo Group Company. It is an Indian alcoholic beverages company and world’s second-largest spirits company in terms of volume. It is a subsidiary of Diageo, headquartered at UB Tower in Bangalore. United Spirits exports products to over 37 countries.

Prathmesh Mishra is the chairman of Royal Challengers Bangalore. He is the Chief Commercial Officer of Diageo India. He leads the commercial function and is a part of the Executive Committee as well. He joined the company in 2014 and is an industry veteran with over two decades of experience. He previously held various positions with Inertia Industries, Mohan Meakins and Pernod Ricard.

Royal Challengers Bangalore Players

Royal Challengers Bangalore retained former skipper Virat Kohli for INR 15 crores, Australian all-rounder Glenn Maxwell for INR 11 crores and speedster Mohammed Siraj for INR 7 crores for IPL 2022. RCB brought back pacer Harshal Patel and all-rounder Wanindu Hasaranga for INR 10.75 crore each at the IPL 2022 mega auction. Australian quick Josh Hazlewood (INR 7.75 crore) and South African Faf du Plessis (INR 7 crore) were their other big buys.

Administration and Support Staff

Former New Zealand coach Mike Hesson is the current Director of Cricket operations at Royal Challengers Bangalore. Former India international Sanjay Bangar is the head coach. Sridharan Sriram is the batting and spin bowling coach while former Australian cricketer Adam Griffith is the bowling coach. Former Tamil Nadu all-rounder Malolan Rangarajan is the head of scouting and fielding coach. Prathamesh Mishra is the chairman of the franchise.

Royal Challengers Bangalore squad for IPL 2022

Faf du Plessis (c), Dinesh Karthik (wk), Virat Kohli, Glenn Maxwell, Harshal Patel, Wanindu Hasaranga, Mohammed Siraj, Shahbaz Ahmed, Sherfane Rutherford, David Willey, Finn Allen (wk), Anuj Rawat (wk), Josh Hazlewood, Jason Behrendorff, Siddharth Kaul, Karn Sharma, Akash Deep, Mahipal Lomror, Chama V Milind, Rajat Patidar, Aneeshwar Gautam, Suyash Prabhudessai.

Among the three finals RCB played, they lost to Deccan Chargers in 2009. They lost the finals again in 2011 against Chennai Super Kings and in 2016 against Sunrisers Hyderabad.


Follow us on Google News