T20 World Cup 2022: Predicted England Playing XI

Updated on: Sep 2, 2022 7:18 pm IST

  • England Playing XI

    The countdown for the T20 World Cup 2022 has begun. The marquee tournament will begin from 16th October in Australia with Sri Lanka set to take on Namibia in the qualifiers round. The Super 12 stage of the tournament will begin from 12th October with the final of the set to be played at Iconic Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) on 13 November 2022.

    England Playing XI

    1. Jos Buttler
    2. Jonny Bairstow
    3. Dawid Malan
    4. Ben Stokes
    5. Liam Livingstone
    6. Harry Brook
    7. Moeen Ali
    8. Sam Curran
    9. Chris Woakes
    10. Mark Wood
    11. Adil Rashid 

    With no Jason Roy in the squad, Jonny Bairstow should open alongside Jos Buttler with Dawid Malan batting at No.3. England’s Test skipper Ben Stokes is likely to bat at No.4 for the side with hard-hitting Liam Livingston at No.5.

    Harry Brook, who is known for his aggressive game, should bat at No.6 with Moeen Ali, Sam Curran and Chris Woakes slated to bat at No.7, 8 and 9. Mark Wook and Adil Rashid are likely to be the two specialist bowlers in the side.

    After the defending champions, England became the second team to announce their squad for the T20 World Cup 2022. Their squad selection surprised many as Jason Roy was dropped from the squad and also Jofra Archer was ruled out of the marquee tournament for the second consecutive year due to injury.

    The squad will be led by Jos Buttler with Moeen Ali being his deputy. The batting department comprises of Jonny Bairstow, Dawid Malan, Harry Brook and Phil salt. England’s real strength lies in its all-rounder department which has Ben Stokes, Liam Livingstone, Sam Curran, David Willey and Chris Woakes.

    The bowling department will be boosted by Reece Topley, Mark Wood, Chris Jordan and Adil Rashid.

    Here’s England’s squad for the T20 World Cup 2022

    Jos Buttler (c), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Harry Brook, Sam Curran, Chris Jordan, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Phil Salt, Ben Stokes, Reece Topley, David Willey, Chris Woakes, and Mark Wood.

    Click for more Cricket News

    Previous Article
    Next Article