England vs South Africa 3rd Test: Jonny Bairstow ruled out. Check Details

Updated on: Sep 2, 2022 9:19 pm IST

  • England vs South Africa

    England vs South Africa: England and South Africa are currently locking horns in the three-match Test series. The series is levelled at 1-1 and the stage is all set for the exciting series decider, which will take place on Thursday (8th September) at Kennington Oval, London.

    England vs South Africa: Jonny Bairstow was ruled out of the third Test against England 

    With less than one week remaining for the start of the series decider between England and South Africa, the hosts suffered a major blow as premier batter Jonny Bairstow is ruled out of the final match.

    Asia Cup winners list

    The right-hander suffered a lower limb injury while playing golf on Friday (2nd September). Bairstow will now meet a medical advisor next week to ascertain his injury.

    England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) released an official statement confirming the same. They also named the replacement player for him in Ben Duckett.

    “Bairstow sustained a lower limb injury in a freak accident whilst playing golf on Friday in Leeds. He will see a specialist next week to ascertain the full extent of the injury. Nottinghamshire batter Ben Duckett has been added to the Test squad for the LV= Insurance third Test at the Kia Oval starting next Thursday,” ECB said in a statement. 

    Bairstow’s injury will be a massive blow for England as he has been one of the main reasons behind England’s success this year. The right-hander has played some of the finest knocks this summer and has single-handedly won matches for his side.

    Top 5 batsmen with most runs in T20I

    England vs South Africa: Probable England XI for the final Test

    With Bairstow being ruled out of the final Test, it is likely that England will hand the debut cap to Harry Brook. Whereas the rest of the team is likely to same as that played the last Test.

    Here’s England’s playing XI for the final Test against South Africa. 

    Alex Lees, Zak Crawley, Ollie Pope, Joe Root, Jonny Bairstow, Ben Stokes (c), Ben Foakes (wk), Stuart Broad, Ollie Robinson, Jack Leach, James Anderson

    Click for more Cricket News

    Who will win Asia Cup 2022?

    Previous Article
    Next Article