T20 World Cup 2022: Sri Lanka Squad Announced. Check Details

Updated on: Sep 16, 2022 5:34 pm IST

  • T20 World Cup 2022 Sri Lanka Squad

    After a stunning Asia Cup campaign Sri Lanka have announced their squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2022 in Australia. Dasun Shanaka will once again lead the 15-member squad into the event starting from October 16, in the tournament opener.

    The squad includes Dushmantha Chameera and Lahiru Kumara, the vital pacers, surrounded by injury concerns. Their participation in the tournament remains undecided deeming their fitness levels. Chameera has caught an ankle injury and will have a month to recover until the tournament kicks off. Other than this duo, Dilshan Madushanka, Pramod Madushan, and Chamika Karunaratne are the pacers on the board.

    Dinesh Chandimal, the veteran wicketkeeper batter, has made it into the reserves, along with Praveen Jayawickrema, Ashen Bandara, Binura Fernando, and Nuwanidu Fernando.

    Moreover, Dilshan Madushanka, the left-arm pacer, has booked a slot in the squad after an excellent run in the Asia Cup 2022. Dhananjaya de Silva and Jeffrey Vandersay are the other familiar names from Sri Lanka’s Asia Cup crusade.

    Related: T20 World Cup 2022 Squads of all teams

    Sri Lanka to play Namibia in the opening match

    Besides, for Sri Lanka, the expectations will be high after a successful Asia Cup stint. The side conquered the Asian title a week ago and will seek a fruitful run in Australia. Sri Lanka will play the tournament-opener against Namibia on October 16, in South Geelong, Victoria. They are placed in Group A, along with Namibia, Netherlands, and UAE. Sri Lanka’s group-stage results will decide their place in the Super 12 stage.

    The final, meanwhile, will be played at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) on November 13, Sunday.

    Related: Most hundreds among active cricketers

    Sri Lanka squad for T20 World Cup 2022

    Dasun Shanaka (C), Danushka Gunathilaka, Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis, Charith Asalanka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Chamika Karunaratne, Dhananjaya de Silva, Wanindu Hasaranga, Maheesh Theekshana, Jeffrey Vandersay, Dilshan Madushanka, Pramod Madushan, Dushmantha Chameera (Subject to fitness), Lahiru Kumara (Subject to fitness).

    Reserves: Dinesh Chandimal, Praveen Jayawickrema, Ashen Bandara, Binura Fernando, Nuwanidu Fernando.

    Related: Highest Score for India in each format

    Follow us on Google News


    Previous Article
    Next Article