2 Senior players return: BAN announce squad for Windies ODIs

Updated on: Dec 3, 2018 4:26 pm IST

  • Bangladesh cricket team

    All-rounder Shakib-Al-Hasan and opening batsman Tamim Iqbal have returned to the Bangladesh team for the ODI series against Windies. Bangladesh cricket board has announced a 16-member squad for the three-match ODI series which is led my pace bowler Mashrafe Mortaza.


    Tamim, Shakib return from injury 

    The left-arm spinner Shakib Al Hasan was battling with a finger injury in the past but made a successful return to the Test team by leading the Bangladesh team to a 2-0 win over Windies. Shakib had missed the crucial matches in Asia Cup due to his finger injury but he looked fine in the Tests series against Windies.

    He claimed nine wickets in four innings against Windies and also scored a half-century. His inclusion will boost Bangladesh’s bowling strength and will also add more punch in the middle-order as Shakib’s batting skills are effective as well.

    Tamim Iqbal has faced a series of injuries in the past. He missed the Asia Cup as he had fractured his wrist and then had to sit out from for the Windies Test series due to a side-strain. The opening batsman will now make a comeback to the team for the ODI series.

    Tamim is one of Bangladesh’s senior-most players and his presence in the batting order will enhance Bangladesh’s batting fire power.

    Image credits @ Twitter


    Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Fazle Mahmud dropped

    At the same time the selectors dropped Nazmul Hossain Shanto and Fazle Mahmud to accommodate Shakib and Tamim in the team. Mahmud had a poor outing against Zimbabwe as he was out for zero twice in the series.

    Also watch: Dhoni learns dance steps from Ziva 


    ODI series to start from December 09th

    The first of the three ODIs between Bangladesh and Windies will be played on December 09th.

    Bangladesh Squad for the ODI series : Mashrafe Mortaza (capt), Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Soumya Sarkar, Liton Das, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Nazmul Islam, Mohammad Mithun, Mohammad Saifuddin, Abu Hider, Ariful Haque.

    Previous Article
    Next Article