Categories: Cricket News
| On Updated : Sep 25, 2019 6:13 PM IST

This team replaces Zimbabwe for India tour in January

Zimbabwe was due to play three 3 T20Is in Guwahati, Indore, and Pune in January 2020 but the series was always under clouds after ICC suspended Zimbabwe Cricket with immediate effect in July this year.

On Wednesday, BCCI announced Sri Lanka as a replacement for Zimbabwe for the short T20 series. The dates and venues for the series in January remain the same.

“In the wake of Zimbabwe’s suspension by ICC, the BCCI invited Sri Lanka to participate in the three-match series. Sri Lanka Cricket has confirmed their participation,” said BCCI.

In July, the International Cricket Council (ICC) unanimously decided that Zimbabwe Cricket, an ICC full member, was in breach of Article 2.4 (c) and (d) of its constitution and suspended it with immediate effect in the ICC Annual Conference in London. All the ICC funding to Zimbabwe Cricket were frozen and the side was forbidden to take part in any ICC events. Zimbabwe's participation in the men's T20 World Cup qualifying tournament starting in October 2019 is also uncertain.

Also read: Vidarbha bowler replaces injured Bumrah in SA test squad

However, despite being suspended, Zimbabwe recently participated in the T20I tri-series in Bangladesh. They managed to win a game against Afghanistan before getting knocked out.


1st T20: January 5, Guwahati

2nd T20: January 7, Indore

3rd T20: January 10, Pune

Dheeraj Singh @Cric_kette

A 90's born who has witnessed Sachin becoming "The God", Dhoni becoming "The only Captain to have won all the ICC trophies" and Kohli turning into a "run-machine". Cricket is something I am crazy for and I try to deliver the best and true I can in my every writing.