Categories: Cricket News
| On Aug 28, 2021 9:43 PM IST

Three Indians in Shakib Al Hasan’s All-time ODI XI, MS Dhoni named captain


Champion Bangladesh all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan has picked the legendary Indian trio of Sachin Tendulkar, Virat Kohli, and MS Dhoni in his all-time ODI XI. Shakib Al Hasan named his all-time ODI XI during an interaction with Sportskeeda on their official Youtube channel.

The spin-bowling all-rounder named the 2011 World Cup-winning skipper MS Dhoni as captain of his all-time ODI XI. Al Hasan picked the legendary Sachin Tendulkar and the ever-so stylish Saeed Anwar as his two openers followed by ‘Universe Boss’ Chris Gayle, current Indian captain Virat Kohli and former Proteas all-rounder, Jacques Kallis.

MS Dhoni is the specialist wicketkeeper-batsman as well as the skipper of the all-time XI followed by Shakib himself as the second all-rounder. The bowling line-up picked by Shakib Al Hasan is a star-studded list consisting of the leading wicket-taker in ODI cricket, Muttiah Muralitharan, the first bowler to breach the 500-wicket barrier in 50-over cricket, Wasim Akram.

The list is capped off by possibly the greatest-ever spinner to ever play the game in Shane Warne and a machine masquerading as a fast bowler, Glenn McGrath- the leading wicket-taker in ODI WC history.

Also Read- England vs India, 3rd Test: Players Ratings for Indian Cricket Team

Shakib Al Hasan picks Sachin Tendulkar, Virat Kohli, and MS Dhoni in his all-time ODI XI

The three Indian names that Shakib Al Hasan has picked- Sachin Tendulkar, MS Dhoni, and Virat Kohli- would probably find themselves in almost every all-time ODI Xi given the trio’s sheer impact in the format.

Sachin Tendulkar enthralled the cricketing world with his charismatic stroke play coupled with consistency for over 20 years and by the time he called time on his career, he had racked up almost every record in the format. The first batsman to rack up 10000 runs and a double-hundred in the ODI format, Sachin Tendulkar remains the leading run-scorer (18,426 in 463 matches) and highest century-getter (49) in ODI cricket.

Closely following Sachin is his successor in Virat Kohli, who has impinged himself as one of the greatest ever batsmen in the 50-over format. The fastest to 9000, 10000, 11000, and 12000 ODI runs, Virat Kohli has the second most hundreds against his name in the format and what makes him such a beast in 50-over cricket is the number of run-chases he has aced during his 13-year-old career.

As far as MS Dhoni is concerned, the sheer impact of the wicketkeeper-batsman cannot be measured by mere numbers. Besides being a brilliant batsman who thrived on finishing games off for his side while batting at 5,6,7, Dhoni was an amazing stumper besides being an inspirational skipper, who led India to two ICC Trophy triumphs in the format: 2011 World Cup and 2013 Champions Trophy.

Also Read- IND vs ENG: Hilarious! Rishabh Pant shadow batting at non-striker end while bowler about to deliver – WATCH

Shakib Al Hasan’s all-time ODI XI:

Sachin Tendulkar, Saeed Anwar, Chris Gayle, Virat Kohli, Jacques Kallis, MS Dhoni [C & WK], Shakib Al Hasan, Wasim Akram, Shane Warne, Muttiah Muralitharan, Glenn McGrath

Also Read- ‘Rename the series the collapse trophy’: Cricket Twitter reacts to India’s collapse on Day 4 of 3rd Test