| On May 19, 2021 3:56 PM IST

Michael Vaughan predicts WTC Final winner, Indian cricket fans furious


World Test Championship Final: Although the second half of the IPL 2021 is suspended by the BCCI under further notice, there is still plenty of cricket and plenty of excitement within the fans regarding Team India’s tour to England. Virat Kohli and his men will be up against a solid New Zealand unit in the finals of the ICC World Test Championship. WTC Final will be contested t the Rose Bowl Stadium, and is scheduled to take place on June 18.

Michael Vaughan backs New Zealand for WTC Final

As fans are making predictions of their own as to who the favorites are, former England skipper turned expert Michael Vaughan has also opinionated on the same. Michael Vaughan believes that it will be New Zealand who heads in as the favorites, considering the fact that the English conditions, and the Duke ball will suit them more. Apart from that, the Kiwis will already be warmed up, as they square off to England for a two-match Test series prior to the finals against India.

Meanwhile, Team India, will have a collective 24 days of quarantine, which includes 14 days in Mumbai, followed by 10 days in Southampton. They won’t be having as much time to prepare in contrast to counterparts New Zealand.

“New Zealand (are favourites). English conditions, the Duke ball, and India on the back of a busy schedule… they’ll arrive pretty much a week before and go straight into it, [and] New Zealand have two test matches, you could argue warmups against England to get them prepared for the final. So it’s quite an obvious one for me,”

“New Zealand will be better prepared and they’ll have more of a group of players who’ve played more cricket with the red ball, particularly the Duke ball here in the UK. New Zealand, all the way,” Vaughan added.


Some Indian fans also responded to Vaughan’s comments, as this isn’t the first time he’s pinned a series against the subcontinent nation.

In spite of Vaughan’s comments, The Indians do have a squad filled with quality, and we can expect an open ended contest. The final will be of huge significance for both nations, as the winners will be the first one to lift the WTC Title.

Related Story: ‘This isn’t your uncle’s team’ Shoaib Akhtar lashes out on Rizwan

India vs New Zealand Squads for WTC Final

India Squad:

Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (Captain), Ajinkya Rahane (Vice-Captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant, R. Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohd. Shami, Md. Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav, KL Rahul, Wriddhiman Saha

Related Story: India’s Possible Playing 11 for WTC Final

New Zealand Squad:

Kane Williamson (captain), Tom Blundell, Trent Boult, Tim Southee, Doug Bracewell, Devon Conway, Colin de Grandhomme, Jacob Duffy, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Rachin Ravindra, Mitchell Santner, Ross Taylor, Neil Wagner, BJ Watling, Will Young

Walli Siddiqui

Talking, articulating, presenting about a sport or a team you love is quite unparalleled, Hence, you can always find me here. P.S. An avid Manchester United fan.