Categories: Cricket NewsIPL 2020
| On Updated : May 12, 2020 9:23 PM IST

WATCH: Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina pick MI-CSK Combined XI

Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians are undoubtedly the most successful franchises in the Indian Premier League. So making an all time MI-CSK combined XI from a crop of many talented match winners is a task in itself. Mumbai Indians captain Rohit Sharma and Chennai Super Kings vice captain Suresh Raina took to that hectic task during their Instagram live session.

Tough task

Both the iconic players found themselves in a puzzle after agreeing to put forward the combined XI of these two strong teams. In the first team they put themselves at batting positions 3 and 4, but later decided to pick a team which excluded them as their count of players to be included went above 11. It was then that Rohit proposed to Raina to pick a team which excluded both of them and has 5 players from MI and 6 players from CSK.

Combined XI

The XI suggested by both these players are as follows:

Opening: Sachin Tendulkar and Mathew Hayden

Rohit and Raina picked the legendary players Sachin Tendulkar and Mathew Hayden as their openers. Sachin was the first captain of MI and is the first indian player to win the orange cap. Hayden on the other hand has produced many match winning innings for CSK in the initial seasons. He entertained everyone with his famous mangoose bat.

Middle order: Faf Du plesis, Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni, Kieron Pollard

Rohit suggested to go with Faf and Rayadu at number 3 and 4. There was some confusion between the players on which side would Rayudu be counted as he has played for both teams. Rohit counted Rayadu among his 5 MI players. Number 5 and 6 was no brainer, they went for the two stalwarts of both the franchises MS Dhoni and Kieron Pollard. Dhoni was named the captain of the side by Rohit.

All rounders: Hardik Pandya, Dwayne Bravo, Ravindra Jadeja

For the all rounders spots they went with Hardik Pandya, Dwayne Bravo and Ravindra Jadeja.

Raina stressed on the importance of all-rounders in a T20 match. He initially wanted to include Albie Morkel but later decided to go with Jadeja as Rohit backed it.

Bowlers: Harbajan Singh, Jasprit Bumrah

Surprisingly they just selected two bowlers and just one fast bowler ie Jasprit Bumrah, leaving no mention about the all time MI great Lasith Malinga.

Just like that od Rayudu, they had confusion on where to count harbhajan as he has played for both teams, and later decided to include him in the 6 CSK slot.

Captain and coach named

MS Dhoni was unanimously selected as the captain of this side. Rohit added that MS will find a way to win with this team. Raina initially suggested that the both will be the umpires. But Rohit jockingly named himself as the assistant coach of the team and named Raina as the fielding coach.

The team:

Mathew Hayden

Sachin Tendulkar

Faf Du Plesis

Ambati Rayudu

MS Dhoni(c & wk)

Kieron Pollard

Hardik Pandya

Dwayne Bravo

Ravindra Jadeja

Harbhajan Singh

Jasprit Bumrah

Midhun M Menon @Mid_On_

An engineer who watches, plays, and writes cricket. Out here to tell you interesting stories from 22 yards from the perspective of a 22-year-old guy.