IND vs AUS: Umesh Yadav Added to India Squad for India vs Australia T20I Series. Check official update

Updated on: Sep 18, 2022 1:39 pm IST

  • IND vs AUS

    Following Mohammed Shami, being tested positive for COVID-19, Umesh Yadav has been added to the Indian squad for the T20I series against Australia starting on Tuesday (September 20) in Mohali. Yadav was supposed to undergo rehab amid a quad injury in Bengaluru but is now called back into the Indian squad. He may play his first T20 International in two years.

    Shami, on the other hand, was not a part of India’s Asia Cup 2022 squad and hasn’t played for India since November 2021 in T20Is. His last outing in the format was in the T20 World Cup 2022 against Namibia, India’s last league-stage game in the tournament. He picked up six wickets in fice World Cup innings at an economy of 8.84, and an average of 23.33.

    The Board for Control of Cricket in India (BCCI) has released a statement regarding the matter.
    Yadav, however, played his last T20I in February 2019 against Australia, in Vizag. Despite being in and out of the national circuit Yadav had been quite decent in the Indian Premier League with the ball, particularly in powerplay overs. In the IPL 2022 overall, he picked 16 wickets in 12 innings at an economy of 7.06 and an average of 21.18. In the Royal London One-Day Cup this year, Yadav was the highest wicket-taker for Middlesex, his club in the domestic English tournament.

    Related: T20 World Cup 2022 Squads of all teams

    India to play tthree T20Is against Australia

    Besides, India are set to play three T20 Internationals against the Aussies. The second game will be played on September 23 in Nagpur. While the final derby of the series will take place in Hyderabad (Deccan) on September 25.

    Related: Most hundreds among active cricketers

    India’s squad for the T20I series against Australia

    Rohit Sharma (C), KL Rahul (VC), Virat Kohli, Ravi Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Hardik Pandya, Umesh Yadav, Suryakumar Yadav, Harshal Patel, Axar Patel, Rishabh Pant (WK), Dinesh Karthik (WK), Deepak Chahar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Deepak Hooda.

    Related: Highest Score for India in each format

    Follow us on Google News

    Previous Article
    Next Article