Who will win World Test Championship if IND vs AUS WTC final ends in a draw?

Published on: Jun 6, 2023 11:28 am IST|Updated on: Jun 6, 2023 11:28 am IST

Who will win World Test Championship if IND vs AUS WTC final ends in a draw

The World Test Championship (WTC) final between India and Australia is set to take place at The Oval starting on June 7. The WTC final is akin to the World Cup in T20 and ODI formats but is exclusive to Test cricket. It spans a two-year cycle, with nine participating teams playing a designated number of home and away games. The top two teams at the end of the cycle compete for the prestigious WTC trophy. New Zealand emerged as the champions in the inaugural cycle.

Is there a Reserve Day in WTC Final?

Yes, there is a reserve day allotted for the WTC final. The weather forecast predicts mostly sunny conditions between Day 1 and Day 4, with Day 5 expected to have some spotty afternoon showers. In case of rain or a washout on any of the five scheduled days, the reserve day will come into play. The reserve day was utilized in the previous WTC final held in 2021 when the opening day was washed out.

The reserve day will only be utilized if rain or thunderstorms result in a complete washout on one of the five scheduled days. If no result is reached by the end of the five days, the reserve day will provide an opportunity to complete the match and determine a winner.

What happens if the WTC final ends in a draw or tie?

In the event of a draw or a tie, the WTC final will result in a shared trophy between India and Australia. Both teams would be recognized as joint champions.

Dream11 Prediction | Cricket News | Photo Gallery | Cricket Stats

World Test Championship Squads

Australia Squad

Pat Cummins (captain)
Scott Boland
Alex Carey
Cameron Green
Marcus Harris
Michael Neser
Travis Head
Usman Khawaja
Marnus Labuschagne
Nathan Lyon
Josh Inglis
Todd Murphy
Steve Smith
Mitchell Starc
David Warner

Reserves: Mitch Marsh, Matt Renshaw

India Squad

Rohit Sharma (captain)
Ravichandran Ashwin
KS Bharat
Shubman Gill
Ravindra Jadeja
Virat Kohli
Ishan Kishan
Cheteshwar Pujara
Axar Patel
Ajinkya Rahane
Mohammad Shami
Mohammad Siraj
Shardul Thakur
Jaydev Unadakt
Umesh Yadav

Reserves: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Mukesh Kumar, Suryakumar Yadav

Follow us on Google News

For daily fantasy sports tips on your mobile phone, Fill out the form below

Previous Article
Next Article