Who won England vs Ireland T20 World Cup 2022? Check ENG vs IRE Man of the Match Award winner

Published on: Oct 26, 2022 1:31 pm IST|Updated on: Oct 26, 2022 1:49 pm IST

England vs Ireland

England vs Ireland: In a massive breaking news development, Ireland have managed to defeat England by 5 runs during a rain-curtailed T20 World Cup 2022 match at the Melbourne Cricket Ground in Melbourne. After having knocked out two-time T20 World Cup champions West Indies in the opening round of this competition, Ireland have now surprised England who were being considered as one of the strong favourites to lift the title.

Who won England vs Ireland T20 World Cup 2022? Check ENG vs IRE Man of the Match Award winner

The Andrew Balbirnie-led Ireland team have handed a massive T20 World Cup 2022 upset to England in the 20th game of the season. Following some heavy rains in the second innings, Ireland were ahead by 5 runs through the (DLS Method) as England were placed at 105 for 5 after 14.3 overs. For the Irish side, skipper Andrew Balbirnie led his team from the front by playing a brilliant innings of 62 runs off 47 balls and thus, he was also named the Man of the Match.

After losing the toss and being asked to bat first, Ireland got off to an impressive start even with losing the early wicket of Paul Stirling, but the duo of Balbirnie and Lorcan Tucker stitched an amazing counter-attacking partnership of 82 runs. However, Ireland suffered a ridiculous batting collapse during the last few over and they still managed to post a fighting total of 157 runs on the scoreboard.

For Ireland, left-arm pacer Joshua Little started off superbly with the ball as he dismissed England captain Jos Buttler on the very first delivery of the second innings. The England team never really got settled and they kept on losing wickets very quickly and stumbled to 86 for 5. Moeen Ali started to take on the Ireland bowlers at the fag end of the innings with a cameo of 24 runs off 12 balls before the rain gods had the final say and England were behind the DLS score of 110 runs. The Group 1 of the Super 12 stage in this T20 World Cup 2022 has become really interesting with both Australia and England lost a game each.

T20 World Cup 2022 Schedule

Date Match Venue Time Result
22 October, 2022 Australia vs New Zealand Sydney 12:30 PM IST New Zealand won by 89 runs
22 October, 2022 England vs Afghanistan Perth 4:30 PM IST England won by 5 wickets
23 October, 2022 Sri Lanka vs Ireland Hobart 9:30 AM IST Sri Lanka won by 9 wickets
23 October, 2022 India vs Pakistan Melbourne 1:30 PM IST India won by 4 wickets
24 October, 2022 Bangladesh vs Netherlands Hobart 9:30 AM IST Bangladesh won by 9 runs
24 October, 2022 South Africa vs Zimbabwe Hobart 1:30 PM IST No Result
25 October, 2022 Australia vs Sri Lanka Perth 4:30 PM IST Australia won by 7 wickets
26 October, 2022 England vs Ireland Melbourne 9:30 AM IST Ireland won by 5 runs
26 October, 2022 New Zealand vs Afghanistan Melbourne 1:30 PM IST
27 October, 2022 South Africa vs Bangladesh Sydney 8:30 AM IST
27 October, 2022 India vs Netherlands Sydney 12:30 PM IST
27 October, 2022 Pakistan vs Zimbabwe Perth 4:30 PM IST
28 October, 2022 Afghanistan vs Ireland Melbourne 9:30 AM IST
28 October, 2022 England vs Australia Melbourne 1:30 PM IST
29 October, 2022 New Zealand vs Sri Lanka Sydney 1:30 PM IST
30 October, 2022 Bangladesh vs Zimbabwe Brisbane 8:30 PM IST
30 October, 2022 Pakistan vs Netherlands Perth 12:30 PM IST
30 October, 2022 India vs South Africa Perth 4:30 PM IST
31 October, 2022 Australia vs Ireland Brisbane 1:30 PM IST
1 November, 2022 Afghanistan vs Sri Lanka Brisbane 9:30 AM IST
1 November, 2022 England vs New Zealand Brisbane 1:30 PM IST
2 November, 2022 Zimbabwe vs Netherlands Adelaide 9:30 AM IST
2 November, 2022 India vs Bangladesh Adelaide 1:30 PM IST
3 November, 2022 Pakistan vs South Africa Sydney 1:30 PM IST
4 November, 2022 New Zealand vs Ireland Adelaide 9:30 AM IST
4 November, 2022 Australia vs Afghanistan Adelaide 1:30 PM IST
5 November, 2022 England vs Sri Lanka Sydney 1:30 PM IST
6 November, 2022 South Africa vs Netherlands Adelaide 5:30 AM IST
6 November, 2022 Pakistan vs Bangladesh Adelaide 9:30 AM IST
6 November, 2022 India vs Zimbabwe Melbourne 1:30 PM IST
9 November, 2022 1st Semi-Final Sydney 1:30 PM IST
10 November, 2022 2nd Semi-Final Adelaide 1:30 PM IST
13 November, 2022 Final Melbourne 1:30 PM IST
For daily fantasy sports tips on your mobile phone, Fill out the form below

Previous Article
Next Article