Cricket News
| On Mar 9, 2022 5:19 PM IST

Women’s World Cup Winner List


The Women’s World Cup was the first ICC tournament organized by the International Women’s Cricket Council in 1973, 2 years before the Men’s World Cup. The International Cricket Council and International Women’s Cricket Council merged together in 2005 to jointly organize the tournament and has since then has been a major success.

Women’s World Cup Winner List

List of Winners of Women’s World Cup history:

Year Winner
1973 England
1978 Australia
1982 Australia
1988 Australia
1993 England
1997 Australia
2000 New Zealand
2005 Australia
2009 England
2013 Australia
2017 England


1973: England

The first ever Women’s World Cup was organized in England, which was a 60 overs affair. The home team secured a 92 run win over the Australia team to be crowned as the champions.

1978: Australia

1978 World Cup was a 4- team tournament comprising of England, Australia, New Zealand, and the host India. The Australian team was quite impressive with a 8 wicket win over their arch rivals England.

Related: 10 Most Beautiful Indian Women Cricketer

1982: Australia

The Australian team sealed second title in a consecutive manner by chasing down the total of 151 runs on the board.

1988: Australia

The Ireland and Netherlands were added to the participating teams, while India was missing. This time around, the Australian team were again impressive to chase down the total and register a hat-trick of titles.

1993: England

In this edition, England batter Janette Brittin became the first player to score more than 1000 runs in World Cup. A total of 8 teams featured in the tournament.  The final was between England and New Zealand, where the former won by 67 runs.

1997: Australia

A record number of 11 teams participated in the tournament, and introduced 50 overs for the first time in Women’s cricket. The Australian team chased down the total of 164 runs to win another title in 1997.

2000: New Zealand

The 8 team tournament was hosted by New Zealand in Lincolnshire and Christchurch. The home team secured their first ever title by defending 185 and beating Australia.

2005: Australia

For the first time in history, Indian team went up until the finals of the Women’s World Cup. But, they could not handle the pressure and lost by 98 runs against Australia.

2009: England

It was the first tournament organized by the International Cricket Council after merger with International Women’s Cricket Council. The England Women team chased down the target of 166 runs against New Zealand team.

Related: Most runs in women’s cricket

2013: Australia

This edition saw the start of teams getting qualified from the Women’s World Cup qualifier. The Australian team clinched their sixth title by securing a win over the West Indies team.

2017: England

One of the most successful event, which helped the women cricket to grow in terms of advertisements, sponsorships. The final was a thriller as well, with England team securing a victory against India by 8 runs.

For more cricket news, click here

Harshit Rathi

Cricket buff. A happy kid who gets to write about Cricket. Traveler.