| On Updated : Oct 27, 2018 10:37 AM IST

MS Dhoni dropped from India’s T20I team

Former India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni has been dropped from India's T20 team which will play against Windies and then Australia. This is the first time  the legendary wicket-keeper batsman has been dropped from the team since he won the inaugural T20I world cup in South Africa in 2007 for Team India. Instead of Dhoni, selectors have picked Rishabh Pant for the T20I series against Windies and Dinesh Karthik for the series against Australia.

Kohli rested, Rohit to led India against Windies

The selectors have once again rested Virat Kohli for the T20 series against Windies and in his absence, opening batsman Rohit Sharma will lead the Indian team.

The selectors have also roped in Shreyas Iyer in the squad as a middle-order batsman while the off-spinner Washington Sundar returns as well. India have also decided to play their frontline pace bowling duo of Jasprit Bumrah and Bhuvneshwar Kumar in this series.

What has been the biggest highlight of India's tour of Australia 2020-21?

Krunal Pandya, Shahbaz Nadeem get a national call

Apart from changing the man behind the stumps, the selectors are also looking to try some other spin options. Krunal Pandya who has consistently impressed in the IPL while representing Mumbai Indians gets a reward for performance.

Also read: Sachin will get same respect even if Kohli breaks his records

Shahbaz Nadeem is featuring in domestic cricket since a long time and this selection may be his rare opportunity to prove his worth in the already crowded spin department.

India's squad for the T20 series against Australia and Windies-

Team India squad for Windies series– Rohit Sharma (C), Shikhar, KL Rahul, DK, Manish, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), Krunal Pandya, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Bumrah, Khaleel Ahmed, Umesh Yadav, Shahbaz Nadeem.

Team India squad for Australia series- Virat Kohli (C), Rohit (vc), Shikhar, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish, DK, Rishabh Pant (wk), Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Washington Sundar, Krunal Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav, Khaleel Ahmed.

Chaitanya Laxman

Smitten by cricket, green mountains, and written words, Chaitanya is engrossed with cricket stats and analysis. But cricket commentary is what he savors the most.