October 16, 2018
| On 8 months ago

Shardul Thakur ruled of Windies ODIs, replacement named

By Chaitanya Laxman

Shardul Thakur who was part of India’s ODI squad for the first two matches series against Windies has been ruled out due to an injury. He is replaced by another pace bowler Umesh Yadav who is currently in fantastic form.

Injury rules out Shardul Thakur from ODI series against Windies

Shardul Thakur made his Test debut against Windies in the second Test played at Hyderabad but just after bowling ten balls he got injured. The injury was so severe that Thakur wasn’t able to participate in the remaining Test and now the team management has cleared that he will need more time to recover. Hence he will not feature in the ODI series against Windies.

Image credits @ AFP

Umesh Yadav to replace injured Thakur

BCCI has made it clear that Shardul Thakur will be replaced by pace bowler Umesh Yadav. After delivering below-par performance in the ODIs against England, Yadav was dropped from the team for the Asia Cup. However, the right-arm pace bowler bowled superbly in the Test series against Windies and infact picked a ten-wicket haul in the second Test.

Also read: I want to win the world cup for India: Shaw

Courtesy of this stunning performance, Yadav has made a comeback in the ODI team. The Indian pace bowler has featured in 73 ODIs and has claimed 105 wickets at an average of 32.60. He is known for his raw pace and ability to bowl longer spells in tough conditions.

India to play five ODIs against Windies

Team India will be playing five ODIs against Windies. The first ODI will be played on 21st October. India have picked three pacers in the team and Yadav has the company of Mohammad Shami and Khaleel Ahmed in the pace department.

India’s squad for ODI series- Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Ambati Rayudu, Manish Pandey, MS Dhoni (wicket-keeper), Rishabh Pant, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Khaleel Ahmed, Umesh Yadav

Chaitanya Laxman