Cricket News
| On Apr 6, 2022 10:49 AM IST

Fastest 50 in IPL – List of Batsmen with Quickest Fifty in Indian Premier League


Fastest fifty in IPL – Indian Premier League (IPL) has grown in stature both in terms of revenue as well as popularity. Every season, we see a new record being made or any old record gets broken. With quality batsmen in all teams, we have seen a lot of fours and sixes being hit.

Fastest 50 in IPL

Let’s have a look at fastest fifty in IPL over the years.

1. KL Rahul vs Delhi Capitals (14 balls)

2. Yusuf Pathan vs Sunrisers Hyderabad (15 balls)

3. Sunil Narine vs Royal Challengers Bangalore (15 balls)

4. Suresh Raina vs Punjab Kings (16 balls)

5. Chris Gayle vs Pune Warriors India (17 balls)

The fastest 50 in IPL has come off KL Rahul’s bat in just 14 balls on 8 April, 2018. Chasing a modest target of 167 runs, Rahul came in to open the innings alongside Mayank Agarwal. Despite losing Agarwal early and Yuvraj struggling with his timing, Rahul kept on scoring quickly from the other end and made full use of the powerplay restrictions. He pummeled Delhi’s bowlers all over the park and the bowlers had no answer to it. Rahul’s innings was brought to the end by Trent Boult as he got out for 51 in just 16 balls. Punjab went on to defeat Delhi with more than 1 over to spare. Rahul was adjudged the Man of the Match for his match-winning innings.

Fastest 50 in T20

If we look at the fastest 50 in overall T20 cricket, dashing left-hander Yuvraj Singh still holds the record when he scored 50 off just 12 balls. Yuvraj made this record in 2007 ICC T20 World Cup against England. The match is fondly remembered for Yuvraj hitting 6 sixes in an over off Stuart Broad. The fact that it has been almost 14 years and the record hasn’t been broken yet shows the quality of that innings.

Years later in 2016 BBL, Chris Gayle did come closer to break that record and he managed to score a fifty from 12 balls as well. But Yuvraj still sits on top as he got more runs than Gayle in the respective matches.

Follow us on Google News

Monojit Das

An avid reader and follower of cricket