IPL Stats
| On Nov 19, 2021 12:04 PM IST

Who is best captain in IPL


Who is best captain in IPL: Indian Premier League (IPL) has witnessed several legends participate in the world’s most competitive T20 league over the past 14 seasons. Mumbai Indians have been the most successful side in the tournament’s history, wining the title on five occasions. On the other hand, MS Dhoni’s led side, Chennai Super Kings have emerged as the most consistent team in IPL. In all regards, one can safely that former Indian captain, MS Dhoni is one of the best captains in IPL Cricket.

Who is best captain in IPL

MS Dhoni has led Chennai Super Kings right since the inception of IPL in 2008. He has guided the Men in Yellow to the title on three occasions, with the latest one being in 2008. MS Dhoni led Rising Pune Supergiant in the 2016 edition of IPL, due to CSK’s two-year absence from the tournament. A side led by MS Dhoni has made it to the playoffs on every occasion except for in 2016 and 2020.

Is Dhoni best captain in IPL?

Although there have been several great IPL captains over the years, MS Dhoni tops the charts due to his sheer level of consistency. Under his leadership, Chennai Super Kings have reached the playoffs on all occasions except for in 2020. Moreover, he has guided CSK to the IPL finals on eight occasions, out of which he has emerged victorious on 3 occasions.

Is Rohit Sharma best captain in IPL?

Rohit Sharma has also asserted himself as one of IPL’s greatest captains, given the amount of success he achieved in the last decade. The stylish right-handed batsman was handed the captaincy for Mumbai Indians in 2013, and since then, they have gone on to win 5 titles, making them the most successful franchise in IPL history. For the matter of fact, Rohit Sharma has never lost a final, while captaining Mumbai Indians.

Is Virat Kohli best captain in IPL?

Virat Kohli ranks among the best ever batters in world cricket. He has been one of the most prolific run-getters of his era, and has been a part of Royal Challengers squad since 2008. He was handed the captaincy in 2013, and has led RCB since then. However, he is yet to lay his hands on his maiden IPL title. The closest he has come to winning an IPL title as a captain was in 2016, when they were defeated by Sunrisers Hyderabad. Hence, Virat Kohli is not the best IPL captain.

Best Captain in IPL Performance

MS Dhoni has been the face of IPL ever since its inception in 2008. The right-hander has been one of the most lethal finishers in T20 cricket, scoring at a blistering pace towards the end of the innings. Dhoni has 4,728 runs under his belt in IPL cricket, at an average of 39.40 and a strike rate of 135.50. His best season came in 2013, when he scored 461 runs at an average of 41.90 and a strike rate over 160.

IPL Highest Paid Cricketers List


Who is most successful captain in IPL?

Rohit Sharma is the most successful captain in IPL history. After taking over the captaincy of Mumbai Indians midway through the 2013 edition, he has gone on to win five titles. In 2013 itself, Mumbai Indians won their first won ever title, after they defeated Chennai Super Kings in the final. Given that age on his side, Rohit Sharma is a serious contender to topple MS Dhoni as the best captain in IPL.

Who is no 1 captain in IPL?

MS Dhoni has competed in over 200 IPL matches, and ranks among the greatest players to play in this league. Few captains come close to matching Dhoni’s level of consistency, when it comes to IPL. He has led Chennai Super Kings to 3 IPL titles, making them the second most successful team. It was only in 2020, that the streak of CSK progressing into the playoffs for consecutive years was broken. Hence, MS Dhoni is the no 1 captain in IPL.

Who is best captain in IPL history?

There is a lot of debate as regards to who should be termed as the best captain in IPL history. On one hand, there is Rohit Sharma who has won five titles in just seven seasons, and on the other hand, there is MS Dhoni who has led Chennai Super Kings to the playoffs on all except one occasion. MS Dhoni’s sheer consistency ranks him as the best captain in IPL history, given that he has won the title on three occasions.

IPL Team Owners and their net worth