IPL Owner Name List – All Indian Premier League Team Owners

Updated on: Dec 20, 2022 3:31 pm IST

IPL Owner Name list

Indian Premier League has resulted in chunks of profit for the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). Now, two new franchises adding in from IPL 2022 the excitement is only expected to get double.We take a look at IPL owner for IPL 2022 edition

1. Mumbai IPL Team Owner 

Mumbai IPL Team Owner

Having won Indian Premier League (IPL) title for a record five times, Mumbai Indians is the most successful franchise in the history of marquee tournament. The Rohit Sharma-led side franchise is owned by Indian’s very own leading businessman and chairman of Reliance group, Mr Mukesh Ambani. Though Mr Ambani himself is not seen regularly in stands his son Akash Ambani and wife Nita Ambani have been often seen cheering for their team and also interacting with the players in the dressing room.

2. Chennai IPL Team Owner 

Chennai Team Owner

One of the most loved Indian Premier League (IPL) franchises Chennai Super Kings is owned by the head of India Cements N Srinivasan. The franchise is led by the most successful Indian skipper MS Dhoni and the wicketkeeper-batsman has proved his mettle in the marquee tournament as well, taking his team to the playoffs in almost every season and putting three trophies in the kitty as well. Notably, the Chennai based franchise was also banned for 2 years in a spot-fixing scandal.

3. Bangalore IPL Team Owner 

Bangalore Team open

Over the years Royal Challengers Bangalore have seen a change in its owners. From the inception of the Indian Premier League (IPL) in 2008 to the year 2016, the Virat Kohli-led side was owned by the director of Royal Challengers Sports Private Limited (RCSPL) Vijay Mallya, however after that head of United Spirits Anand Kripalu is the owner of the Bangalore based franchise. They have been one of the unluckiest sides of the IPL as despite having star players in their team have failed to lift the title even once. But they have a fair chance to clinch their maiden title as in the ongoing season (2021) they have been one of the top sides.

4. Kolkata IPL Team Owner 

Kolkata Knight Rider Team Owner

India’s very own King Khan Shahrukh Khan’s Red Chillies Entertainment along with her Bollywood colleague Juhi Chawla and her husband Jay Mehta’s company Mehta group owns the Kolkata Knight Riders with shares of 55% and 45% respectively. The franchise over the years has tasted a lot of success and have won Indian Premier League (IPL) two times in 2012 and 2014 respectively. Both their owners Shahrukh Khan and Juhi Chawla are often spotted in the stands cheering for their team.

5. Delhi IPL Team Owner 

DELHI IPL Team Owner

Since the last few years, Delhi Capitals have risen in the ranks and has become a team to defeat. The Delhi based franchise finished as the runner ups in the 2020 season of the Indian Premier League (IPL) and has been dominant in the ongoing 2021 edition of the marquee tournament. The Rishabh Pant-led side is owned by the owner of JSW group Parth Jindal and owner of GMR group Kiran Kumar at the stakes of 50% each. The team was earlier named Delhi Daredevils but in 2018 they were renamed Delhi Capitals. Notably, Parth Jindal is also the youngest owner of the franchise in IPL.

6. Punjab IPL Team Owner 

Punjab IPL Team Owner

Considered among one of the unluckiest Indian Premier League franchises Punjab Kings is owned by four groups. Mohit Burman’s Dabur group owns the majority of stakes with 46% followed by 23% each of Ness Wadia’s Wadiya group and Priety Zinta’s PZNZ media. The 8% shares in the franchise are owned by Karan Paul’s Apeejay Surrendra Group. Though the other owners are not seen in the stand, Priety Zinta has been an active supporter of her team and is regularly spotted in the stands cheering for them. The KL Rahul-led side has also failed in winning the title at least once.

7. Rajasthan IPL Team Owner 

Rajasthan IPL Team owner

The champions of the inaugural edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL), Rajasthan Royals is jointly owned by Tresco International Ltd head Amisha Hathiramani along with Emerging Media IPL Ltd head Manoj Badale, Blue Water Estate Ltd’s owner Lachlan Murdoch, Kuki Investments Ltd owners Raj Kundra and Shilpa Shetty and former leg-spinner of the franchise Shane Warne. The team ever since winning the inaugural edition has failed to get going and has found it difficult to assert their authority in every season.

8. Hyderabad IPL Team Owner 

Hyderabad IPL Team Owner

The Indian Premier League winners of 2016, Sunrisers Hyderabad is owned by SUN TV network’s CEO Kalinithi Maran. The franchise came in 2013, replacing Deccan Chargers. Kalinithi’s daughter Kaviya Maran has been often seen in stands cheering for her team. The Kane Williamson-led side has done well decently well throughout the years as they can upset any on the given day. However, nothing has been going right for the one-time champions in the 2021 edition of the Indian Premier League as they have found it difficult to find a suitable playing XI. They would be hoping to come all guns blazing in the next season with some fresh faces in the side.

Never miss an update, visit Google News & FOLLOW US.

For daily fantasy sports tips on your mobile phone, Fill out the form below

Previous Article
Next Article