PBKS Full Form: Punjab Kings (Formerly Kings XI Punjab)

Updated on: Mar 10, 2023 5:16 pm IST

PBKS 2023 Playing 11 - Strongest Punjab Kings Playing XI

Punjab Kings, formerly known as Kings XI Punjab, is a franchise cricket team that represents the state of Punjab in the Indian Premier League (IPL). The team was founded in 2008 and is owned by Mohit Burman, Ness Wadia, Preity Zinta, and Karan Paul. In this blog post, we will take a closer look at the PBKS full form and the history of the franchise.

The Origins of the Franchise

Kings XI Punjab was one of the eight teams that were introduced in the inaugural season of the IPL in 2008. The team was owned by a consortium of businessmen, including Mohit Burman, Ness Wadia, Preity Zinta, and Karan Paul. The team was captained by former Australian skipper, Adam Gilchrist, in IPL 2011.

Rebranding as Punjab Kings

In 2021, the Kings XI Punjab franchise underwent a major rebranding exercise, and it was renamed as Punjab Kings. The new name and logo were unveiled by the team’s co-owner, Preity Zinta, on 17th February 2021. The team’s new logo features a lion, which is a symbol of strength and courage.

The PBKS Squad

The Punjab Kings have had some of the best T20 cricketers in their squad over the years. The team has a mix of Indian and foreign players, and they have always been known for their explosive batting line-up. Some of the top players who have played for Punjab Kings over the years include Yuvraj Singh, Glenn Maxwell, David Miller, KL Rahul, and Chris Gayle.

The team’s current squad for IPL 2023 includes some big names such as Shikhar Dhawan, Sam Curran, and Kagiso Rabada.

Related IPL 2023 Player List

PBKS in the IPL

The Punjab Kings have had a mixed record in the IPL over the years. They have reached the playoffs three times, in 2008, 2014, and 2019, but they have never won the IPL title. The team’s best performance came in IPL 2014, when they finished as runners-up to Kolkata Knight Riders.

In IPL 2021, the Punjab Kings had a decent season, finishing sixth in the points table. KL Rahul was the team’s leading run-scorer, while Mohammed Shami was their leading wicket-taker. The team will be hoping to put up a better performance in IPL 2022 and go all the way to the final.

PBKS’s Home Ground

The Punjab Kings play their home matches at the PCA Stadium in Mohali, which is located in the state of Punjab. The stadium has a seating capacity of 26,950 and has been the home ground of the Punjab Kings since the team’s inception in 2008. The stadium is known for its electrifying atmosphere and has hosted some of the most memorable matches in IPL history.

Related IPL winner from 2008

Punjab Kings, formerly known as Kings XI Punjab, is one of the most popular franchises in the Indian Premier League. The team has a strong fan base, and they have always been known for their aggressive brand of cricket. With a new name and logo, the Punjab Kings will be looking to make a mark in IPL 2022 and win their first-ever IPL title.

Previous Article
Next Article