Wankhede Stadium kahan hai: Check out Wankhede Stadium IPL records

Updated on: Mar 24, 2023 5:02 pm IST

Wankhede Stadium kahan hai

The Wankhede Stadium, situated in the bustling city of Mumbai, is undoubtedly one of the most iconic cricket stadiums in the world. It is a popular venue for the Indian Premier League (IPL) matches and has been the stage for numerous unforgettable moments in the tournament’s history.

The stadium is home to the Mumbai Indians, one of the most successful teams in IPL history, and the fans throng in large numbers to watch their favorite team in action. The Wankhede has witnessed some of the most exhilarating matches in IPL history, which have left the fans on the edge of their seats.

Wankhede Stadium kahan hai: Check out Wankhede Stadium IPL records

The Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai has witnessed many memorable matches, but one particular encounter stands out for its low-scoring affair. It was the 2008 match between Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) and Mumbai Indians (MI), which produced the lowest innings total in IPL history at the venue.

KKR had a forgettable outing on the pitch, as they struggled to put runs on the board against a formidable MI bowling attack. They were bundled out for a paltry 67 runs, in just 15.2 overs, with none of their batsmen managing to score more than 18 runs. This remains the lowest innings total at the Wankhede Stadium to date.

In response, MI made light work of the chase, with openers Sanath Jayasuriya and Sachin Tendulkar putting on a 36-run partnership in just 2.4 overs. Jayasuriya, in particular, was in destructive form, smashing 4 sixes and 2 fours in his innings of 26 runs off just 11 deliveries. MI chased down the target in just 5.3 overs and won the match by 9 wickets.

The Wankhede Stadium is a witness to some of the most memorable batting performances in the IPL. AB de Villiers’ unbeaten 133 against the Mumbai Indians in 2015 stands as the highest individual score at the stadium. Playing for Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), de Villiers came in at number three and launched an incredible assault on the MI bowlers. He reached his century off just 46 balls, smashing 19 fours and 4 sixes along the way. His heroics helped RCB post a daunting total of 235 runs, which MI could not chase down, resulting in a 39-run win for RCB. De Villiers’ innings was hailed as one of the finest in the history of the IPL, and it remains the highest individual score at the Wankhede Stadium to this day.

Related: Wankhede Stadium highest score

The Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai has a reputation for being a batting paradise, with its pitch being known for assisting batsmen more than bowlers. This has led to teams piling up huge scores while batting first, making it a daunting task for the chasing team to overhaul.

The highest innings total at the Wankhede Stadium in the IPL is 235, which was scored by Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) against Mumbai Indians (MI) in 2015. It was a match that was dominated by RCB from the very beginning. After winning the toss, RCB chose to bat first, and their openers, Chris Gayle and Virat Kohli, got them off to a flying start. Gayle, known for his aggressive style of play, smashed a quickfire 50 off just 21 balls, including five boundaries and four sixes. Kohli, on the other hand, played a captain’s knock, scoring an unbeaten 82 off just 50 balls, including 7 fours and 3 sixes.

But the biggest highlight of the match was the stunning century by AB de Villiers, who came in to bat at number three. De Villiers smashed a breathtaking 133* off just 59 balls, including 19 fours and 4 sixes, to help RCB post a mammoth total of 235/1 in their allotted 20 overs.

MI, in response, started well, with Lendl Simmons and Parthiv Patel putting up a 99-run partnership for the first wicket. However, once Simmons got out for 68, MI’s innings fell apart, and they could only manage 196/7 in their 20 overs. Despite Rohit Sharma’s 35-ball 50 and Kieron Pollard’s 19-ball 49, MI fell short by 39 runs.

The Wankhede Stadium has hosted only one IPL final, in 2018, between Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH). CSK emerged victorious, winning their third IPL title. The match was a high-scoring encounter, with CSK posting a total of 181/2 after batting first. Shane Watson’s unbeaten century, which included 11 fours and 8 sixes, was the highlight of the innings. SRH, in response, could only manage 178/6 in their 20 overs, and CSK won the match by 8 runs. The 2018 final was a thrilling affair and showcased the excitement and intensity that the Wankhede Stadium is known for in the IPL.

Related: Wankhede Stadium last IPL match scorecard

For daily fantasy sports tips on your mobile phone, Fill out the form below

Previous Article
Next Article