Wankhede Stadium records: Check out Wankhede Stadium records in IPL history

Published on: Mar 24, 2023 5:16 pm IST|Updated on: Mar 24, 2023 5:16 pm IST

Wankhede Stadium records

The Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai is a renowned cricket ground with a significant history in Indian cricket. It has witnessed some of the most remarkable matches in cricket history, making it an iconic venue for the sport. The stadium has hosted many games over the years, including matches in the Indian Premier League (IPL), and has established several Wankhede Stadium records that are worth exploring.

Wankhede Stadium records

Highest totals in an IPL innings at Wankhede Stadium

The Wankhede Stadium has earned a reputation for being a high-scoring venue, where batsmen can dominate the proceedings. The Wankhede Stadium records has been witness to some of the highest-scoring innings in IPL history, with several teams posting massive totals on the board. The highest team total in an IPL innings at the Wankhede Stadium is 235, which was scored by the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) against the Mumbai Indians (MI) in 2015.

The RCB batting line-up, which included Chris Gayle, Virat Kohli, and AB de Villiers, tore apart the MI bowling attack to post a mammoth total. Gayle got the team off to a flying start with a quickfire 21-ball 50, while Kohli and de Villiers smashed centuries. Their innings propelled RCB to an imposing total of 235/1 in their 20 overs.

The second-highest team total at the Wankhede Stadium is 230, which was scored by Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) against MI in 2017. KXIP’s opening pair of Hashim Amla and Shaun Marsh laid the foundation for a big total, with Amla scoring 104 and Marsh scoring 58. KXIP ended their innings with a total of 230/3.

The third-highest team total at the Wankhede Stadium is 226, which was scored by KXIP against the Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in 2014. KXIP’s batting line-up, which included Glenn Maxwell, David Miller, and Virender Sehwag, put up a dominant display to post a massive total. Maxwell top-scored with 90 off just 38 balls, while Miller contributed with 47 off 32 balls. Their innings helped KXIP to a total of 226/6 in their 20 overs.

Team Score Opposition Year
RCB 235 MI 2015
KXIP 230 MI 2017
KXIP 226 CSK 2014
MI 223 KXIP 2017
PBKS 221 RR 2021

Lowest totals in an IPL innings at Wankhede Stadium

In addition to some of the highest-scoring games in IPL history, the Wankhede Stadium has also been the site of some low-scoring matches. Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) hold the record for the lowest team total in an IPL innings at Wankhede Stadium, scoring only 67 runs against Mumbai Indians (MI) in 2008. The match saw KKR struggle to put runs on the board, with none of their batsmen scoring more than 18 runs. MI, in response, chased down the total in just 5.3 overs and won the match by 9 wickets. The second-lowest team total is held by Chennai Super Kings (CSK), who were bowled out for just 79 runs against MI in 2013. The third-lowest team total is held by Delhi Daredevils (DD), who could only manage 87 runs against Rajasthan Royals (RR) in 2007.

Team Score Opposition Year
KKR 67 MI 2008
CSK 79 MI 2013
DD 87 RR 2007
MI 87 SRH 2018
MI 92 DD 2012

Related: Wankhede Stadium highest score in IPL

Leading run-scorers in the IPL at Wankhede Stadium

Several legendary batsmen have showcased their skills at the Wankhede Stadium in the IPL. Rohit Sharma, the captain of MI, holds the record for the most runs scored at the stadium with 1733 runs. Keiron Pollard and Ambati Rayudu hold the second and third positions with 1209 and 900 runs respectively. Dinesh Karthik and Sachin Tendulkar hold the fourth and fifth positions with 740 and 726 runs respectively. These players have entertained cricket fans with their explosive batting skills, and their records at the Wankhede Stadium will always be remembered.

Leading wicket-takers in the IPL at Wankhede Stadium

The Wankhede Stadium has been a battleground for some of the most exceptional bowlers in the world. Lasith Malinga tops the list of leading wicket-takers in IPL matches played at this venue with 68 wickets. Following him is Harbhajan Singh with 49 wickets, and Jasprit Bumrah with 36 wickets occupies the third spot. In fourth place, Dhaval Kulkarni, Hardik Pandya, and Dwayne Bravo share the position with 24 wickets each. These bowlers have delivered some of the most breathtaking performances in IPL history, and their contributions have been instrumental in their team’s success.

Related: Sachin Tendulkar Last IPL match

For daily fantasy sports tips on your mobile phone, Fill out the form below

Previous Article
Next Article