Who won IPL 2008? Check All Details

Updated on: Mar 23, 2023 11:20 am IST

IPL 2008 final

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is a professional Twenty20 cricket league in India. The inaugural edition of the IPL was held in 2008, and it is now one of the most popular cricket leagues in the world. The tournament is played annually, and the winner is determined by a knockout format. In this blog, we will discuss who won IPL 2008 and some interesting facts about the tournament.

Introduction to IPL 2008

The first edition of the IPL was played in 2008, and it was a grand success. The tournament was held from April 18 to June 1, 2008, and a total of 56 matches were played. Eight teams participated in the tournament, and they were Rajasthan Royals, Chennai Super Kings, Kings XI Punjab, Delhi Daredevils, Mumbai Indians, Kolkata Knight Riders, Royal Challengers Bangalore, and Deccan Chargers.

The tournament was played in a round-robin format, and the top four teams advanced to the semifinals. The final was played between Rajasthan Royals and Chennai Super Kings.

The Teams

Rajasthan Royals

Rajasthan Royals was captained by Shane Warne, and the team had some big names like Graeme Smith, Yusuf Pathan, and Sohail Tanvir. The team was considered an underdog before the tournament began, but they surprised everyone with their performance. They won 11 out of their 14 matches and finished at the top of the points table.

Chennai Super Kings

Chennai Super Kings was captained by MS Dhoni, and the team had some big names like Muttiah Muralitharan, Michael Hussey, and Suresh Raina. The team was considered one of the favorites before the tournament began, but they had a slow start. However, they bounced back and won seven out of their last eight matches to finish at the second spot on the points table.

Related IPL winner list

Who won IPL 2008?

The final of the IPL 2008 was played on June 1, 2008, at the DY Patil Stadium in Mumbai. Rajasthan Royals won the toss and elected to field first. Chennai Super Kings scored 163 runs in their 20 overs, thanks to Suresh Raina’s half-century. In response, Rajasthan Royals chased down the target in 18.3 overs, with Shane Watson scoring an unbeaten 76.

Rajasthan Royals won the IPL 2008 by three wickets, and they became the first team to win the tournament. They also won the Fair Play award for their conduct throughout the tournament.

Interesting Facts

  • Rajasthan Royals was the only team in the tournament without any big-name players, and they were considered underdogs.
  • Rajasthan Royals’ captain Shane Warne was not expected to play in the tournament due to his retirement. However, he was convinced by the team management to play, and he played a crucial role in their victory.
  • Yusuf Pathan was named the player of the tournament for his all-round performance. He scored 435 runs and took 8 wickets in the tournament.
  • The IPL 2008 was the first tournament to use the Umpire Decision Review System (UDRS).

IPL 2008 was the first edition of the Indian Premier League, and it was won by Rajasthan Royals. The team surprised everyone with their performance, and they became the first team to win the tournament. The tournament was a grand success, and it paved the way for the success of the IPL in the years to come.

Related Best Team in IPL

For daily fantasy sports tips on your mobile phone, Fill out the form below

Previous Article
Next Article