Winner of IPL 2011: Check All Details

Published on: Mar 23, 2023 11:25 am IST|Updated on: Mar 23, 2023 11:25 am IST

IPL 2011 final scorecard

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is one of the biggest cricket tournaments in the world. It is a Twenty20 format tournament that features top cricketers from across the globe. IPL 2011 was the fourth season of the tournament, and it was played from April 8 to May 28, 2011. The tournament saw some spectacular performances by both players and teams, but in the end, it was the Chennai Super Kings who emerged as the champions. In this blog post, we will take a closer look at Winner of IPL 2011 and how they won the IPL 2011.


Chennai Super Kings was one of the most consistent teams in the IPL. They had made it to the final in the previous two editions of the tournament and had won the trophy in 2010. The team was captained by the Indian cricket team’s captain, MS Dhoni, and had a strong squad that included the likes of Suresh Raina, Murali Vijay, Michael Hussey, and Ravichandran Ashwin.

Group Stage

Chennai Super Kings had a mixed start to the tournament. They won their first game against Kolkata Knight Riders but lost their next two matches against Kings XI Punjab and Royal Challengers Bangalore. However, they bounced back strongly and won their next six games on the trot. They finished the group stage with nine wins from 14 matches and secured the second spot on the points table.

Related IPL winner list


Chennai Super Kings faced the Royal Challengers Bangalore in the first qualifier. Chennai won the toss and elected to field first. Royal Challengers Bangalore posted a competitive total of 175/4 in their 20 overs. In reply, Chennai Super Kings chased down the target with two balls to spare. Suresh Raina top-scored for Chennai with an unbeaten 73.

Chennai Super Kings faced the Kolkata Knight Riders in the final of IPL 2011. Kolkata Knight Riders had defeated Mumbai Indians in the second qualifier to reach the final. The final was played at the M. A. Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai, and Chennai Super Kings won the toss and elected to bat first.

Winner of IPL 2011

Chennai Super Kings got off to a good start, with Murali Vijay and Michael Hussey putting on a 87-run opening partnership. However, they lost wickets at regular intervals and were restricted to 190/3 in their 20 overs. Suresh Raina top-scored for Chennai with an unbeaten 63.

Kolkata Knight Riders got off to a bad start, losing two wickets in the first over itself. They never recovered from that and were bowled out for 192 in 19.4 overs. Manvinder Bisla top-scored for Kolkata with 89 off 48 balls, but his efforts went in vain.

Chennai Super Kings won the match by 58 runs and lifted their second IPL trophy. Murali Vijay was declared the Man of the Match for his knock of 95 in the final.

Related Best Team in IPL

Chennai Super Kings’ journey in IPL 2011 was a perfect example of how to bounce back from a slow start. They showed great resilience and determination and went on to win the tournament. MS Dhoni’s captaincy was once again instrumental in their success, and the team displayed some great performances throughout the tournament. IPL 2011 was a memorable tournament for Chennai Super Kings and their fans, and they will be hoping to replicate their success in the upcoming editions of the tournament.

For daily fantasy sports tips on your mobile phone, Fill out the form below

Previous Article
Next Article