Zaheer Khan predicts T20 World Cup Squad for India

Updated on: Aug 16, 2021 10:42 am IST

  • The 2021 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup is scheduled to take place between 17 October and 14 November 2021. Due to the Covid-19 pandemic situation in India, the matches will take place in the United Arab Emirates and Oman. Former Indian bowler Zaheer Khan, who played a key role in India’s 2011 World Cup triumph, has named 15 players who could take part in the tournament.

    Zaheer Khan Names 15 Players for the T20 World Cup

    A young Indian side failed to impress in the recently concluded India vs Sri Lanka T20 series. It is no surprise that a lot of those players miss out on Zaheer’s XI. Rising stars Ishan Kishan and Suryakumar Yadav are included. The duo had a splendid IPL last season and they were one of the few shining lights of the recent series in Sri Lanka.

    Shikhar Dhawan Prithvi Shaw

    Notably, Prithvi Shaw, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, and Krunal Pandya are missing. Khan has gone with the top three of KL Rahul, Rohit Sharma, and India skipper Virat Kohli.

    I will open with KL Rahul and Rohit Sharma. Virat and Surya will follow them. I know Virat has made the statement that he wants to open the innings. But I would still say that Virat only opens in case Hardik is not available to bowl. In that scenario, you can sacrifice one batsman and get an extra bowler

    He has chosen Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, and Rishab Pant in the middle order for their powerful hitting. In the bowling department, Zaheer Khan believes it is important to pick leg spinners as they are very successful in this format. He has chosen Rahul Chahar as a backup for Yuzvender Chahal. One of Washington Sundar or Varun Chakravarthy will handle the new ball.

    Deepak Chahar recently surprised everyone with his ability with the bat. He makes the squad ahead of Shardul Thakur. Mohammed Shami and Jasprit Bumrah pick themselves. Khan has also backed T Natarajan for his death bowling skills and left-arm variation.

    India’s 15 member team for World Cup:

    Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Rishabh Pant (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Deepak Chahar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Rahul Chahar, T Natarajan/Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Washington Sundar/Varun Chakravarthy

    Previous Article
    Next Article