India woman cricketer surpasses Rohit as leading run scorer in T20Is

Updated on: May 20, 2021 12:57 pm IST

Legendary Indian cricketer Mithali Raj has surpassed Rohit Sharma to become the leading run-scorer for the nation in T20Is. The former India captain achieved this feat during her knock of 56 runs off 47 balls against Pakistan in the ICC women’s world T20 which also earned her the player-of-match award.


Raj leads the table with 2232 runs

The Indian batter now has 2232 runs under her belt which puts her at the top of the table for most runs for India in T20Is while Rohit Sharma who is at number two position has scored 2207 runs.

There are a few interesting aspects when Raj’s and Rohit’s stats are compared. Raj has played 79 innings while Rohit has featured in 80 innings. The Indian woman cricketer has an average of 37.20 while Sharma averages 33.43. Rohit has four T20I hundreds which is a world record while Mithali has no hundreds but has 16 half-centuries to her name.


I just enjoy batting: Mithali 

The former India captain was satisfied with her performance against Pakistan. She said that by default, all her years she has been in the middle. So she enjoys being there and she would like to continue batting there.

She revealed that she enjoys opening and also enjoys batting at no. 3.  She made it clear that at the end of the day, she just enjoys batting. She noted that chasing puts a little pressure, to keep up the run-rate, but she cleared that this is what she enjoys.


Mithali’s solid batting helps India crush Pakistan

Mithali Raj’s solid batting at the top of the order enabled India to crush Pakistan in their second match at the ICC women’s world T20.

Also read: Sri Lanka cricketer ruled out of England series 

Batting first, Pakistan were restricted to 133 runs and in response, India got off to a flying start as Smriti Mandhana and Mithali scored 73 runs for the first wicket. Mithali was dismissed in the 18th over but by then India were at the brink of an easy win.

India will now take on Ireland on 15th November and Australia on 17th November.

Previous Article
Next Article